SHOP CATEGORIES
FEATURED
WHAT'S NEW   [more...]
Curious George: Royal Monkey
Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD Reviews
Displaying 47 reviews       Back
Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD

A roller coaster ride of love, emotions and comedy


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Roku C
Date: Saturday 02 June, 2018
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: James e ethan L
Date: Sunday 30 April, 2017
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Tvos C
Date: Sunday 09 October, 2016
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Nicole S
Date: Wednesday 20 July, 2016
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing!! Makes you reflect on your marriage.


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Audrey F
Date: Saturday 18 June, 2016
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Loved this movie. Great marriage booster. God is so good.


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Timothy O
Date: Monday 30 November, 2015
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Edith M
Date: Friday 26 June, 2015
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Steve S
Date: Saturday 14 March, 2015
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Karen M
Date: Tuesday 24 September, 2013
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Vincent R
Date: Tuesday 10 September, 2013
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Phyliss H
Date: Tuesday 10 September, 2013
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
it is very thought provoking and funny would recommend to all married couples. Sometimes all it takes in a marriage is to share your feelings.


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: John F
Date: Tuesday 10 September, 2013
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Daniel D
Date: Monday 01 July, 2013
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Alexander S
Date: Monday 24 June, 2013
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Fun movie that we enjoyed. The only problem was perhaps the marriage issues were resolved to easily? However, when we turn our hearts to Christ it becomes possible to forgive and that can come quickly and miraculously.


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: James B
Date: Thursday 10 January, 2013
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Danielle B
Date: Thursday 22 November, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Leah D
Date: Thursday 15 November, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Husband and I have been married for 20 years now. Many struggles & challenges later. We found this movie true to life, many great points. We've watched it twice on Netflix. GREAT inspiration, slightly comedy, slight drama, -- all around GREAT.


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Wesley W
Date: Friday 02 November, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Mark S
Date: Monday 29 October, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Gerald C
Date: Tuesday 23 October, 2012
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Lisa B
Date: Thursday 13 September, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Very good wholesome movie. Great message. Made me think real hard about priorities of my own marriage. Highly recommend.


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Angela C
Date: Tuesday 28 August, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Larry J
Date: Tuesday 14 August, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I believe everybody should watch this, married or not.


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Jay B
Date: Saturday 21 July, 2012
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Mervin bachemin J
Date: Thursday 19 July, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Denise H
Date: Wednesday 13 June, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Phillip W
Date: Wednesday 06 June, 2012
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
I truly expected more humor and genuineness from this movie. Was very disappointed. Message was good, but not presented well at all.


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Ben U
Date: Sunday 03 June, 2012
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
I thought this would be appropriate to watch since I recently got married on 9-10-11! First noticing the description, I was worried this was going to be a rip off of Couples Retreat. Don’t get me wrong I love watching Christian based movies as they can be unique and refreshing, however like any other film, I hope to see originality and it being decent enough to watch more than once. Despite this concern, I watched Marriage Retreat because it is fairly new and was just released on Netflix.

Marriage Retreat is about three Christian couples who aren’t so happily wed. One couple consists of a soap actor and his wife Donna; who is a bit jealous and annoyed by the attention he gets from others. Another couple is former restate agent Bobby, now unemployed and addicted to gambling, and Melody the daughter of a Korean dry cleaning service whose parents don’t approve of him. The third contains Claire who is baby crazy, but her husband Mark isn’t too thrilled on the idea of being a father. While at Church the three couples hear of a special Marriage retreat, led by Dr. Craig and Katrina Sullivan, and unanimously agree to attend… Marriage Retreat unfortunately, in my opinion, did rip off Couples Retreat to some degree, but this wasn’t a bad movie either. Some of the similarities were the following:

1.Both involve some unorthodox methods. Only in Marriage Retreat it is two Christians rather than one New Ager in Couples Retreat.
2.One husband has an addiction problem. Couples Retreat it was porn/lust when Marriage Retreat was online gambling.
3.One husband is more focused on work than his wife.
4. One spouse is a bit of a control freak. Couples Retreat it is the husband while Marriage Retreat it is the wife.
5.The couples think the trip is going to simply be a glorified vacation. Couples Retreat was on a 5 star resort so they had more of an excuse to think that.
6.Both hint the Husbands are much more to blame for their problems.
7.Both have 100 percent happy endings.

However, there were some unique original points which redeems this review. For an example I liked the final exercise where the couples are shackled together, have to hike down the mountain trail, and can only find their key beside the cross of Jesus; there were certainly some inspirational scenes. I also thought there were some scenes that were pretty funny like where the three guys are badmouthing their wives and get caught thanks to Dr. Craig tricking them. There were some moments which I found cheesy like one wife equating Dr. Craig and Katrina’s relationship as “he’s like her rock”. I think the movie went by too fast in that they should have made this a two-hour movie rather than a near 1 1/2 hours. Overall if you’re nervous about watching Couples Retreat due its language and content, or you simply want to see a decent movie about marriage then this is for you.


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Teresa B
Date: Thursday 10 May, 2012
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
It was ok but needed,more detail in the movie.


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Sonny S
Date: Tuesday 08 May, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Torine O
Date: Sunday 01 April, 2012
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
I think the actors did very well for their parts but the story was a little rushed. There were very good truths married couples need to struggle with and some humor. I did enjoy this movie over all.


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Maiya I
Date: Monday 12 March, 2012
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Jennifer B
Date: Tuesday 06 March, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Melanie D
Date: Saturday 03 March, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Absolutely comical!! I really needed to see this kind of a movie... just rent/buy, you won't be disappointed!!


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Liza B
Date: Saturday 25 February, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
I had never heard of this movie till I looked into this website and tried the 2 wk. free trial. This is such an encouraging, humorous, yet 'right-on-the- button' movie that addresses issues that married couples can have and the attitudes of the hearts that go with it. Its a movie that helps you to reset your own button in your marriage.


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Keri O
Date: Monday 23 January, 2012
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
Don't waste your time and money! Other than the good message being that Jesus must be the center of every successful marriage, this movie was terrible! The acting was horrendous and it was not funny at all. I was expecting it to be as good as Fireproof as some of the other reviews said but this was awful! What a dissappointment! It barely deserves 1 star.


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Crystal S
Date: Monday 02 January, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Doris H
Date: Wednesday 28 December, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
this was a very entertaing movie.It is a movie you can relax AND ENJOY WITH YOUR WHOLE FAMILY AND NOT HAVE TO BE EMBARRASSED BY IT.


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Charity J
Date: Tuesday 06 December, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Honestly I find myself to be a very difficult critic to please and very seldom will I rate a movie at a 4 or 5 star. This movie is a 5 star and I will be adding this movie to my home collection. I laughed at times, I felt my heart tugged at times, I could relate at times and I found no flaw in the movie. The message in the movie is a 5 star message. Story line and actors were wonderful. I loved this movie.


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Richard H
Date: Monday 05 December, 2011
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Lori S
Date: Thursday 03 November, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Richard and linda D
Date: Friday 14 October, 2011
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Marriage Retreat, starring Victoria Jackson, will surely delight all who are suffering through the trials of an ordinary marriage. What do you mean by "ordinary marriage," you ask? In reality, each of us bring numerous "issues," (back-story, in film parlance) to our marriage, and our goal, as Christians, is to meld our differences for the good of what God has joined together (you and your spouse). The techniques offered by Jeff Fahey (as The Marriage Counselor) are quite interesting, but highly effective. Enjoy!


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Kathleen M
Date: Wednesday 12 October, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Tricia S
Date: Thursday 06 October, 2011
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Beverly S
Date: Sunday 11 September, 2011
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
Kinda cheesy, but has a good message. Worth the watch.


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Michele B
Date: Tuesday 06 September, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
My husband and I truly enjoyed this movie. The acting was great and the plot was so true-to-life. If you are married or dating, you will relate to the couples! It was very funny and well directed. I would recommend this movie to anyone who is married or considering getting married.


Title: Marriage Retreat: Special Edition - VOD
Reviewed By: Steven W
Date: Tuesday 30 August, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This is right up there with "Fire Proof", "My Father's Flag", "They Might Be Giants" and "Fly-Wheel". I was not expecting much.... In-spite of the good actors.... I wasn't really in the market for a marriage DVD..not really....
But, this flick just knocked my socks off as it will for anyone who's watching it.!
The acting is great.
The technical is great.
The photography is great! There is really nothing I would change!! It is all there!!

Besides being a good marriage DVD, it is extremely funny at the same time.

Go get it, rent it, buy it.... all very worth-while and most enjoyable.!!


Back
DIGITAL BEST SELLING
BUYER REVIEWS [more...]
Marriage Retreat: Special Edition
5 of 5 Stars!
Marriage Retreat: Special Edition
Amazing!! Makes you reflect on your marriage.... [read more]
Quote For The Day
"For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved."
- John 3:17

What customers say about ChristianCinema.com:
"Great experience! Cheapest buy on the net! Thanks for everything and looking forward to watching "Nooma: Rich" when it gets in." - Joshua Watson