SHOP CATEGORIES
WHAT'S NEW   [more...]
Lost Heart
The Trial - DVD Reviews
Displaying 33 reviews       Back
The Trial - DVD
%
off!
The Trial - DVD

He lost his family. Now he must rediscover his faith.


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Helen J
Date: Saturday 01 March, 2014
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Chele W
Date: Monday 20 January, 2014
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Gloria Z
Date: Tuesday 26 November, 2013
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Barbara M
Date: Friday 11 October, 2013
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Vincent R
Date: Friday 20 September, 2013
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Bill C
Date: Friday 09 August, 2013
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Karen D
Date: Tuesday 29 January, 2013
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Dale H
Date: Monday 21 January, 2013
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Teresa W
Date: Friday 30 November, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Bradley R
Date: Sunday 18 November, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Traci D
Date: Thursday 01 November, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Andres l O
Date: Thursday 26 July, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Ivy jacqueline L
Date: Wednesday 27 June, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Ben U
Date: Sunday 03 June, 2012
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
I like to hear a decent mystery and sometimes watch a court room drama unfold too. I realize not all movies, let alone ones with a Christian based label, have to be all about presenting some sort of message and can sometimes be just for the sake of providing an entertaining story; conditioned that is their objective. I assume the entertainment idea of providing a clean, courtroom drama, alternative was the case for The Trial. Conditioned this movie was only to provide a clean courtroom story I felt they did a decent job.

The Trial, is about veteran lawyer Kent “Mac” McClain who is about to kill himself. He is depressed about his wife and children dying several years ago, but stops when the phone rings. He picks up the phone and is given the opportunity for one last serious court case, should he decide he still wants to retire for good. It involves the murder of a young college girl and her boyfriend Pete is charged with the deed. The eccentric young man, claims to be innocent and although Pete’s story doesn’t sound very strong legally speaking, Mac eventually believes him and fights a court room battle in the hope of saving Pete from being condemned with the death penalty.

I usually don’t comment about this kinda thing, but I loved the camera work and the lighting a lot; very artistic. If the creators of The Trial had intended to promote a strong theological message then I didn’t see a very strong one, though they briefly had an epiphany moment for Mac about life being worth something, but in this case I don’t think they were out to prove a point necessarily. (so I’m not being hypocritical when it comes to my review for the Hometown Legend entry since I felt in that movie they WERE trying to write something theological in my opinion) I felt the story had a bit of a slow start, I assume much of that was for portraying Mac’s suicidal mindset. God is mentioned positively which is great and it leaves me to wonder why they can’t do that in mainstream Hollywood once in a while…? I wasn’t really a fan of Randy Wayne in this movie, I get his character was depressed but based on his performance in this movie and in To Save a Life he reminds me of a Christian version of Michael Cera, (in that although each role is a different person he seems very similar if not the exact same in tone and mannerisms) but then again I’ve only seen two of Wayne’s movies. I felt at the end of the movie it would have been cool if they had Mac and Dr. Wilkes expand their relationship into something more romantic. I have seen better court room dramas, and I don’t think it stood out much from mainstream court dramas besides it being clean and holding God in a positive light, but not a bad movie otherwise.


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Gail L
Date: Thursday 10 May, 2012
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Libby M
Date: Friday 27 April, 2012
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Josh U
Date: Sunday 22 April, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Good Movie.


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Kathy S
Date: Thursday 22 March, 2012
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Tammy R
Date: Tuesday 17 January, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Billy M
Date: Saturday 24 December, 2011
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: John-clay B
Date: Saturday 10 December, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Absolutely LOVED this film! Highly recommended, especially for anyone who likes courtroom drama storylines!


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: John-clay B
Date: Tuesday 18 October, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Kathy B
Date: Monday 03 October, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Tim C
Date: Friday 29 July, 2011
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Worth watching if you like courtroom drama. Some Christian hints that are acceptable and a theme to let God have your past is also good. Kids my not want to stick with all the dialogue. With that all said, nothing overtly Biblical in the script.


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Kathleen R
Date: Tuesday 24 May, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Good acting, good plot, good drama, loved it.


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Joyce L
Date: Saturday 07 May, 2011
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
A really good movie. Enjoyed watching it--very suspenseful. Religious part was kept to a minumum, but was very realistic for real life experiences. Great acting too.


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Gail D
Date: Sunday 01 May, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Wow, this was a fabulous movie, keep you in suspense. Great group of actors also. Teaches us there are always reasons why things happen, good ones, especially when we look for them, and take our eyes off ourselves.


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Terrylynn A
Date: Wednesday 27 April, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
My Husband and I really enjoyed this movie. Every movie that I have gotten from this web site we have really enjoyed.


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Christie S
Date: Thursday 17 March, 2011
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
here i am as the voice of descent. i did like the movie, but not as much as i thought i would. it was very slow moving, very dark (literally, as in the courtroom needed a light in there or something), and really didn't give much more than a passing lip-service to God.

i think matthew modine did a good job with his character. but randy wayne really was overlooked. he's such an amazing talent, and he didn't get the opportunity in this movie to put his talent to use.

it's definitely not something i would rent again, but i am glad that i saw it once... if only to satisfy my curiousity.


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Susan R
Date: Thursday 17 March, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Great movie.


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Frederick W
Date: Tuesday 01 February, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Absolutely one of the finest movies that I've ever seen. The actors truly act, especially with their faces -- their eyes, the expressions, the slightest head movement, etc. Tone of voice and inflection are flawless, too. Claire Carey interacts at various levels with others within the same scene; e.g., in the restaurant with her son on one level and with Matthew Modine's character on another. Her appearances are very effective. The anguish displayed by Matthew Modine's character in so many different settings -- alone at home, with Claire's character, with the defendant, with the judge, with his brother-in-law -- all very effective at showing the intricacy of this character and the complex process of grieving. Then, there's Nikki Deloach and her character, Mindy. What an excellent performance! You can follow the progress of the story in her face. So many films now rely on action and special effects. These actors act, and it's impressive. Finally, what a tremendous improvement for the director over his last film, The List. That story had problems with flow and continuity. Not this one. The Trial is top-notch in comparison to anything else from anyone else or anywhere else. I have never seen a film with Matthew Modine that I considered a flop. He chose well yet again, and Claire and Nikki are icing on the cake. The rest of the cast all fit extremely well in the telling of the story. Well done, and well worth the time to watch -- again and again. I've already viewed it 3 times. Catch something new every time. Again, well done.


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Sherri S
Date: Monday 03 January, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This movie is very well produced and filmed. Although some topics may be suggested (but only discerned by adults)in the movie, there is absolutely no inappropriate speech or conduct. The plot is well thought out and the conclusion completely surprises the viewer. The message is stated strong - everyone's life is important and is purposed by God. We are not to decide the outcome of our life, but trust that God is in control and His plans are purposed.


Title: The Trial - DVD
Reviewed By: Nirmal W
Date: Wednesday 10 November, 2010
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This courtroom drama tricks you - it's not just about the courtroom, but about loss and grief and how it affects us. I really like Matthew Modine, he's great in this role. Randy Wayne, from "To Save a Life" is in this film also, and it's good to see him extend his range. A fun surprise is Nikki Deloach, who plays Mindy. She's great!


Back
DIGITAL BEST SELLING
BUYER REVIEWS [more...]
The Trial
5 of 5 Stars!
The Trial
Good Movie.... [read more]
Quote For The Day
"For the word of God is full of living power. It is sharper than the sharpest knife, cutting deep into our innermost thoughts and desires. It exposes us for what we really are."
- Hebrews 4:12

What customers say about ChristianCinema.com:
"Thank you for giving me and others the opportunity to view Christian movies (and at good rates). With all of the junk Hollywood is coming out with it's nice to know that someone values Christian morals in our Great country." - Christy Farley