SHOP CATEGORIES
FEATURED
WHAT'S NEW   [more...]
Yoga For Busy Moms - Spread Your Wings – Upper Body Arms & Shoulders
The Imposter - VOD Reviews
Displaying 69 reviews       Back

Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Mary M
Date: Saturday 28 March, 2015
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Jim E
Date: Thursday 04 December, 2014
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Jim E
Date: Thursday 04 December, 2014
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Jim E
Date: Thursday 04 December, 2014
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Debra K
Date: Wednesday 03 September, 2014
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Richard and linda D
Date: Saturday 23 August, 2014
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
The Imposter suffers from an exceptionally unrelatable protagonist, which is not overcome by supporting actors and actresses. Enjoy!


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Ruth A
Date: Tuesday 15 July, 2014
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Lana S
Date: Tuesday 17 June, 2014
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Alice B
Date: Wednesday 30 April, 2014
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Joseph Y
Date: Tuesday 29 April, 2014
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Yomaris R
Date: Tuesday 15 April, 2014
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: James P
Date: Thursday 16 January, 2014
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
Not a very good Christian movie at all.


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Alice B
Date: Friday 13 December, 2013
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Sara J
Date: Monday 25 November, 2013
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Donna F
Date: Wednesday 02 October, 2013
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Beverly S
Date: Saturday 21 September, 2013
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: John thomas B
Date: Tuesday 10 September, 2013
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Teresa L
Date: Monday 09 September, 2013
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
Just awful! Christians trying to be "Cool" in a worldly way...


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Daniel D
Date: Saturday 06 July, 2013
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: David l. cox, S
Date: Tuesday 25 June, 2013
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Martin J
Date: Monday 08 April, 2013
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Bob H
Date: Wednesday 03 April, 2013
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Torine O
Date: Monday 18 March, 2013
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
This film is not very entertaining but it does have some serious scenerios worth talking about.


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Donnalynn S
Date: Saturday 16 March, 2013
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Tina S
Date: Friday 01 March, 2013
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Danielle B
Date: Thursday 14 February, 2013
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: George K
Date: Monday 14 January, 2013
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Sage C
Date: Sunday 09 December, 2012
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Debbie H
Date: Friday 07 December, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Bonnie Y
Date: Saturday 24 November, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Great movie


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Anello A
Date: Monday 29 October, 2012
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Charles B
Date: Wednesday 17 October, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Bob D
Date: Wednesday 17 October, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Chris P
Date: Tuesday 11 September, 2012
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Robert R
Date: Tuesday 14 August, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Jae G
Date: Tuesday 05 June, 2012
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Anthony P
Date: Tuesday 24 April, 2012
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Josh U
Date: Sunday 22 April, 2012
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
This movie is dumb. The homeless guy was the only entertaining character in the movie. Cheesy acting and stupid plot.


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Jennifer B
Date: Wednesday 04 April, 2012
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Shannon R
Date: Monday 30 January, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: R.c. H
Date: Friday 27 January, 2012
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Joe C
Date: Monday 09 January, 2012
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Shelly M
Date: Friday 06 January, 2012
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Tara L
Date: Wednesday 28 December, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Great flick .. :)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Gerardo M
Date: Wednesday 21 December, 2011
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Andrew S
Date: Monday 05 December, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Scott W
Date: Saturday 03 December, 2011
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Marie D
Date: Friday 02 December, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Dan M
Date: Monday 28 November, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Thanks Beatrice! It's why we make the movies.

Dan
www.s-films.com


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Beatrice T
Date: Friday 18 November, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]

I watched it because I saw that Kerry Livgren was in it!!! I enjoyed it because it made me realize who my "self absorbed" ex (lead singer for a christian band that no one has ever heard of) really was, and I saw just how easy it was for him to manipulate use and betray me again and again and sing and write songs about our God.
Thank you, it helped me to forgive him.
God bless ya'll! ...Even you folks in Nashville. :)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Julianna M
Date: Wednesday 09 November, 2011
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Richard A
Date: Thursday 27 October, 2011
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Latisha W
Date: Wednesday 28 September, 2011
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Joseph matthew C
Date: Monday 26 September, 2011
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: David P
Date: Tuesday 06 September, 2011
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
Very disjointed movie with poor acting.


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Matthew M
Date: Tuesday 06 September, 2011
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Recently I saw The Imposter, which is a Christian film featuring Kevin Max, formerly of DC Talk. It tells the story of a singer of a Christian band who is not a Christian and is addicted to drugs. He has a wife who wants nothing to do with him and a brother-in-law who hates him, who is ironically a worship leader.

The movie did have a made-for-TV type feel to it. The acting and production were about the same as a lot of the other Christian movies with a little bit of cheesy musical interlude during dramatic scenes. I think where it went wrong was the script. Kevin Max’s character is so absolutely unlikeable I couldn’t find it in myself to cheer for the guy. I also feel like this movie and Steve Taylor’s “The Second Chance” are really like the Nashville people trying to tell a certain story to have some sort of commentary about their industry. Personally, I also don’t like movies where the actors lip sync to music or the actors are musicians.

With Christian movies there is always that urge to resolve the problems by the film’s end when in reality some problems never wrap up that neatly and progress comes very slowly. While the Imposter resists that temptation for Kevin Max’s wife to take him back in the end, it doesn’t leave the audience with a good sense of closure.

I think the goal of Christian movies is pretty noble, but if the script is not rock solid it’s going to be really hard to get that message across properly. In my opinion, in some cases the Christian music on the soundtrack seems to be more important than the actual story. While I do feel like a properly placed song can really benefit a movie, I think there is a danger if the music is overshadowing the film.

In the end it all gets back to writing because a typical Christian movie is not going to emphasize sex, drugs, gore, violence or in many cases special effects. Christians are often portrayed as a stereotype in movie such as Saved! As much praise as Hollywood gets for making movies it has rarely ever portrayed Christians as real people with real problems. I think Christian movies will be better received when they portray faith in a way that mirrors reality.


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Phyliss H
Date: Tuesday 16 August, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I like the way they portrayed the lead singer it shows that being popular can go to your head. I also shows that after the damage has been done to your loved ones they won't just jump on the band wagon and trust you again. You will have to prove that you have changed in your actions because your actions speak louder than your words. I recommend this to those who have musical calling in their life.


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Debra L
Date: Friday 29 July, 2011
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
very good different enjoyed it


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Debra & brian H
Date: Saturday 16 April, 2011
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
We liked the movie, definitely depicts reality more than some other fluffy "feel good" endings.


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Mark F
Date: Wednesday 23 March, 2011
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
I was pleasantly suprised with this one.... it does its best to avoid the usual Christian film cliches (in fact it even actively pokes fun at them). One other reviewer complained that it didn't really have an ending, but I kind of liked the fact that it left loose ends.... it shows a more realistic portrayal of many folks' spiritual path: some people gradually come to a knowledge of the Truth, and yes we don't always get everything we want, even AFTER we repent.


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Pamela W
Date: Wednesday 23 March, 2011
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
Poor acting, couldn't get past the first 30 minutes.


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Claudia E
Date: Saturday 19 March, 2011
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
Not even sure what to say about this movie. I disliked the immodest women for sure. Just no need for that cleavage in a Christian film. I also felt like it was written for 2 reasons, to show the truth about the Christian music world and to speak out against the prosperity message that seems to predominate our churches these days. For those 2 reasons only I liked it.


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Michael V
Date: Tuesday 23 November, 2010
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Good movie with decent acting. I did not like the ending much but overall is was a good movie.


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Becky C
Date: Thursday 15 July, 2010
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
This is one of the worst movies I have rented from ChristianCinema. Not once did the main character pray or show true repentance for his horrific actions. How is this supposed to minister to people?


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Joyce L
Date: Wednesday 23 June, 2010
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Good movie, and more true to life than many happily-ever-after Christian movies. Left a lot to think about.


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Lisa B
Date: Sunday 13 June, 2010
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
I didn't really like this movie. It was good at first and I can imagine this happens more than we know BUT it ended without his outcome. It failed to show him really repenting. I guess you could just say it ended without an ending.


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Jim D
Date: Wednesday 24 March, 2010
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
When first watching the Imposter film I was a little nervous after seeing the trailer as to what to expect. After all, we were going to show this for a movie night at our church. Although we are fortunate of having a church family that is made up of mostly active kingdom thinkers vs. ritualistic religion, I was still concerned that perhaps the film content may be a little more than they bargained for. I was pleasantly surprised. The film gives a feeling of quality right from the opening credits in the beginning. The music throughout was first class and flowed well. I especially like Kerry Livgren’s updated version of “Carry On Wayward Son”. It’s always better when the original artist is involved in updating a classic.
Although there were some rough spots at times (as did another faith based film I saw recently called “A Letter to Dad”), it was very acceptable for a church crowd. After all, doesn’t life throw us all some rough spots at times? This film does a great job at displaying some true realities in the church today including hypocrisies of those in power – from an evangelist to his son the Christian rock star! At the same time the film depicts true believers who want nothing more than to focus on following Jesus. I like it that Prof. uses the term “believer” in place of Christian in the film and even goes so far as to say that when the term Christian comes up, his response is “you mean a believer” ! We live in a day and age with so many Christian dominations and affiliations, that the term “Christian” is a loaded word which means a lot of different things to a lot of different people depending on their experiences. Unfortunately, many of them negative. I also like the mysterious homeless person who although has mental illness issues, has a gift of reading people and pointing out bluntly what he sees. No “Facing the Giants/Fireproof” ending here. Don’t get me wrong – I loved both of those films and found them very inspiring, but many times life doesn’t turn out that neatly. This film has what I would call a realistic yet satisfying ending & illustrates that just because we accept Christ doesn’t mean we can turn on our cruise control. Ultimately you leave this film with hope! I highly recommend this film and is a good film to show at church & start some good dialog from the ideas presented.


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Gina F
Date: Tuesday 23 March, 2010
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Great movie. Been there and done that..don't ever want to go back. Without Jesus we are so lost and only HE can make us knew again. I would recommend this move. <>--


Title: The Imposter - VOD
Reviewed By: Mike H
Date: Thursday 04 February, 2010
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
I saw this movie when it was shown at some theaters in the Dallas/Ft Worth area. I thought the acting was pretty good and the story was believeable. Most Christian movies try to relay a good message based on the bible but it's hard to keep the audience's attention and the movies seem to end with the "perfect ending". This movie isn't like that in the fact that it is real life with people with real problems that don't get totally solved. It's a little edgy (like the movie "To Save A Life") with the drug and infidelity references but that happens in real life and I am sure it happens more in the Christian music scene than we know. The movie also includes a somewhat re-done version of a classic 1970s secular song "Carry on Wayward Son" which was written by one of these actors, Kerry Livgren and some great Christian rock music. The guy who plays Popeye is priceless and my favorite cuz he tells like it is to Johnny (Kevin Max). I recommend this to teens. (In fact, we took our church group to a showing and they repeatedly liked that it was like real life and not preachy).


Back
DIGITAL BEST SELLING
BUYER REVIEWS [more...]
The Imposter
5 of 5 Stars!
The Imposter
... [read more]
Quote For The Day
"For I know the plans I have for you," says the LORD. "They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope."
- Jeremiah 29:11

What customers say about ChristianCinema.com:
" Best kept secret!" - David Melugin