SHOP CATEGORIES
FEATURED
WHAT'S NEW   [more...]
Pokemon Detective Pikachu
Faith Like Potatoes - DVD Reviews
Displaying 123 reviews       Back
Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
%
off!
Faith Like Potatoes - DVD

The seed for a great miracle lies not in difficulty, but impossibility.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Kennedy P
Date: Saturday 16 January, 2016
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I actually saw this movie on TV whilst on Holiday in Africa, and I must say am glad I found that you have here in your catalogue. It was shown on one of the many christian stations in the West African country I was visiting (who are very religious) and found this movie truly an inspirational one, with so many twists and turns to how the main character treated his Zulu workers until he embraced his faith and after his return to his native Scotland where he showed his Zulu workers slides on his visit and (for me a poignent comment) he stated the similarity between the (black) African tribes and the Scottish tribes (or clans) and being Scottish myself I could relate to that as we are one people deep down no matter the colour. And being a true story makes this film truly a great one to watch.
So I do recommend this film to all.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Roger T
Date: Monday 21 September, 2015
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Totally awesome, totally uplifting, totally heart wrenching, wonderful wonderful movie!! Would recommend to everyone over the age of 13...some parts are pretty graphic but what an inspiring and wonderful story!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Crystal A
Date: Monday 09 March, 2015
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Wendi G
Date: Thursday 26 February, 2015
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Pamela H
Date: Thursday 06 November, 2014
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
Slow at beginning...was having a hard time hearing and understanding accents, but glad we persevered.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Jim and barbara W
Date: Sunday 01 June, 2014
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
EXCELLENT MOVIE!! It proves what real faith in Jesus will do! We need more people of strong faith like Angus to get the people of this world healed.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Peggy D
Date: Wednesday 16 April, 2014
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Mary M
Date: Tuesday 11 March, 2014
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Catina J
Date: Sunday 02 March, 2014
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Peggy O
Date: Monday 20 January, 2014
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Faith Like Potatoes is a wonderful illustration of the contrast between a life lived apart from God and a life turned over to God. If you only like action, violence, and Hollywood acting, I suppose that would make a difference, but I loved it. It is so refreshing to see movies with God included.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Larry and judy C
Date: Thursday 05 September, 2013
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Great message and inspiring. Excellent acting! A little difficult to follow sometimes with the accents. :)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Scott L
Date: Tuesday 25 June, 2013
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Julie G
Date: Tuesday 28 May, 2013
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This movie clearly takes the phrase from Scripture and puts into action.
Walk by Faith and not by Sight


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Elaine M
Date: Wednesday 15 May, 2013
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
We thought this one was slow getting started, but it was WELL worth the wait! Great movie!!!!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Krystina B
Date: Friday 10 May, 2013
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Nora O
Date: Tuesday 23 April, 2013
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Zuleyma C
Date: Friday 15 February, 2013
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This a great movie to watch with the family, I have it now and I watch it when I can .. it give you hope and keep your faith.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Julie G
Date: Friday 01 February, 2013
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Wilfredo V
Date: Friday 12 October, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Cecelia c B
Date: Tuesday 02 October, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Stan H
Date: Friday 28 September, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Generosa T
Date: Friday 21 September, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
A very good movie with a very inspiring message. At times, the audio wasn't very clear, but it was a great movie.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Heather L
Date: Thursday 20 September, 2012
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
Up until the tragic tractor scene, I would have given this movie 5/5 stars.
It was *moving* and a movie I could watch with family UNTIL that scene.
I realize it is based on a true story but as a mom to a young boy who loves tractors, it was way too graphic for me.
I had to turn it off and pray that the Lord would erase that scene from my mind. Seriously, pass the brain-bleach.
To recap: I do NOT recommend this for children or for people who are sensitive to graphic scenes.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Colleen P
Date: Tuesday 28 August, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Dominick S
Date: Friday 17 August, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Superb W
Date: Sunday 29 July, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
it is a great movie


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Carlos P
Date: Wednesday 25 July, 2012
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Rebecca B
Date: Monday 09 July, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Debbie C
Date: Thursday 14 June, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
What a wonderful and uplifting movie! A little trouble understanding his accent, but did not interfere with enjoying this inspiring movie!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Sandra M
Date: Sunday 27 May, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing. It held joy and pain. A little predictable, but earth-shattering surprises too.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Janet M
Date: Saturday 19 May, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Tonya S
Date: Sunday 06 May, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
A true story about faith. While watching the movie i understand the title!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Brandon B
Date: Sunday 08 April, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Mike B
Date: Tuesday 03 April, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
I thought it was a good film. I watched it with a mixed age group of christians and was a little worried how it would rate among them. However it was received quite well. It started off a little slow, well in fact just kept a slow pace throughout the movie. The blood scene towards the end with the tractor was a bit much from some young viewers. Good story of redemption and God's grace.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Tara T
Date: Sunday 11 March, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Donna J
Date: Thursday 23 February, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This was a exceptional movie. We thoroughly enjoyed it. This movie gives me hope especially for my love ones who are not following the Lord. The patience of the Lord is such a blessing.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Suzanne C
Date: Tuesday 07 February, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
This is one of the most inspirational movies I have ever watched! Because it is a true story makes it even more memorable. I have already watched it five times!!! The documentary on this DVD is excellent. I am glad I noticed it on there. The real family tell the rest of the story...I finally bought my own DVD of this movie!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Billy M
Date: Friday 20 January, 2012
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Adam W
Date: Monday 02 January, 2012
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Diego M
Date: Thursday 15 December, 2011
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Randy S
Date: Monday 14 November, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Great movie. Solid message. Good for the whole family.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Amber D
Date: Saturday 12 November, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Cira M
Date: Thursday 20 October, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I loved this movie!! God took a disappointed ,angry man and changed him into a warm and faithful servant with love in his heart.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Laura H
Date: Wednesday 12 October, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
The movie started off a little slow and I almost gave up...I'm sooooo glad that I held out this was one of the best films in a long time. I have 3 kids (10, 7, 5) and they loved it as well. A great film!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Blair R
Date: Tuesday 04 October, 2011
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: David c B
Date: Monday 03 October, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
We have this in our movie library and we've watched it several times. Love how God turns a life around and how many others are blessed by it.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Sd G
Date: Monday 03 October, 2011
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Richard and linda D
Date: Friday 30 September, 2011
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
Faith Like Potatoes tells the real life story of Angus Buchan (played by Frank Rautenbach) and Jill Buchan (portrayed by Jeanne Neilson). During Act 1, we see evidence of the worldly life and difficulties that beset this family. In Act 2, after the Christian conversion of the family, struggles continue, but are tempered by their Godly faith. Act 3 brings it all together, with a crop of potatoes being raised under difficult farming conditions. If you watch the documentary in the Special Features, you will see the real difficulty that this film fails to present: Mrs. Buchan is, essentially, not included in the gospel/evangelistic events conducted by her husband. He travels the world, while she stays home. We did not think this was honoring his wife. The film would have been better, for us, without the (truthfulness of the) documentary. Enjoy!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Susan M
Date: Tuesday 27 September, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
It was a wonderful story. Sometimes in life we find that we have faith like potatoes :)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Russ B
Date: Wednesday 14 September, 2011
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
This is a wonderful story, and it's more enjoyable because it's accurately based on the true Angus Buchan. The extra features on the DVD were worth more to me than the drama, because they reveal the real person behind the story. I recommend watching the biography of Angus Buchan first, because he confirms the validity of what the drama presents. The interviews with the actors are also powerful, because they show that the actors believe what they are presenting in their drama.

Because of the graphic detail presented in the scene of tragedy, I would have a hard time suggesting that little people view this drama at all. Also, the preview of the lost boys of Ethiopia (the title is something like "God Grew Tired of Us") contains immodesty that is inappropriate for families to be watching.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Sandy K
Date: Friday 02 September, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
We loved it!!! we give it a 5


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Donald A
Date: Friday 26 August, 2011
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Great message, beautiful cinematography, decent acting, a little slow at times, overall an excellent movie. highly recommend for all ages except the very youngest children due to a death scene.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Faye s C
Date: Friday 29 July, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Justin H
Date: Wednesday 15 June, 2011
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
Movie Review “Faith like Potatoes”

Theology: 0.5 out of 5 STARS

This film was dreadfully irrelevant a far as evangelical content. The film’s gospel message was limited to a single reference to the cross close to the end of the movie. It presented an unbiblical redefinition of what faith in God is by having the main character “Angus” continually test God with extravagant faith demands. True faith rests in the providence of God not the assumptions of man. For examples of radical biblical faith see the life of George Muller and avoid “Faith Like Potateos”.

The theological message of the movie was confusing and unbiblical at best. I gave it a generous score of 0.5 out of 5 stars because the cross is mentioned.

Family: 2 out of 5 STARS

It is a “Reader’s digest” meets “Chicken Soup for the Soul” fluffy movie that portrays God in a way I would not wish to expose my children to.

There is mild violence but nothing unnecessary to the story.

I gave it a 2 out of 5 score because I believe that theology matters.

Story: 2 out of 5 STARS

Down on his luck South African farmer Angus Buchan is an abusive over stressed family man trying to provide a life for his family in the harsh South African countryside. After his stress from being overworked leads to some family troubles he agrees to go with his wife and children to a church meeting.

After Angus attends a church meeting where a fellow famer talks about how he had much despair before coming to God, Angus is apparently transformed into a Christian although the movie never tells us what this means.

After an experience where Angus prays for rain to put out a fire during the middle of summer and it actually rains, Angus decides that he is called to gospel ministry. Then after being rejected by a few pastors who are evidently faithless because they refuse to let a man they know nothing about preach in their pulpits, Angus finds an opportunity to preach his message.

From this point farmer turned evangelist Angus goes on to raise the dead, fill a stadium for a prayer meeting, and ultimately grow a large crop of potatoes with no water or rain.

I gave it 2 out of 5 stars because it has some heart tugging side stories that help to keep you from being totally bored.

Acting: 2 out of 5 STARS

The acting is generally poor, I gave it such a high score because of some of the Zulu workers we very believable at times.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Mike H
Date: Friday 03 June, 2011
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
It was difficult to understand the thick Australian accented dialogue. I also got turned off by the violent scenes in the beginning and quit watching it after about 20 minutes. According to the other reviews, maybe I should have stuck it out but the movie didn't appeal and grab me right off.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Sherra K
Date: Friday 03 June, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I thought this was a good movie for our family: me, my husband, and 3 girls (12, 15, 17). Everyone liked it. I was the only one who felt that the movie was kinda slow going in the beginning but I'm antsy that way with movies haha! I thought it showed a great transition from an angry man into a Holy Spirit - Convicted man. I had to explain to the girls how Africa is with all the fighting among the races and tribes and also the atmosphere with the white farmers and how they are commonly murdered. We all thought it was pretty neat that it was also based on a true story.

The movie showed hardships that we face in life and how he came to rely on God to help him and his family through them. It showed how God reveals Himself within his life and gets you to think about how God reveals Himself in our own lives. Definitely one to rent for the family or couple.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Darlene S
Date: Thursday 26 May, 2011
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
I really like this DVD, but I think when people are hard to understand (even though they're speaking English) they need to have subtitles. They should have been used all the way through this movie. It was annoying when I couldn't figure out what they were saying due to their mumbling, or accents that made it hard to understand them.
However, it had an excellent spiritual message!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Ericka B
Date: Wednesday 25 May, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
love it!!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Jackie J
Date: Saturday 23 April, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
An Amazing movie of God working through the most difficult real life situations and their faith believing God will provide in the most dire of cicumstances. God never lets us down. This is a movie worth seeing. Very Faith affirming.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Corinna P
Date: Thursday 14 April, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
BEST MOVIE EVER !!!!!!! MY WHOLE FAMILY LOVED IT. MY 10 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER SAID IT WAS "AWESOME"..... SHE WATCHED IT TWO TIMES AND REALLY LOVED IT. GREAT FOR ADULTS AND CHILDREN. SHOWS THE STRUGGLES IN LIFE AND HOW ONLY GOD CAN TURN IT AROUND..... A MUST SEE MOVIE!!!!!!!!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Malcolm F
Date: Saturday 05 March, 2011
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
This DVD has a good story, but for an English speaking film it is very hard to hear... he speaks low and with a scottish-african accent and the music is overlaid louder... not pleasant to struggle over.

The first part of the film is his unsaved life, and there's no way to know it's the prelude to his salvation, so you end up watching to many scenes of him in fits of rage and beating on people. Not a film for a young family.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Jennifer T
Date: Tuesday 01 March, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Awesome Movie.One of the Best Drama movies ever seen. Keeps your faith going. If they can do it, I can too! :)
five star movie you have to see if you need help in your deepest troubles that helps strenght your faith.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Luisa O
Date: Monday 28 February, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Praise the Lord! This is a great movie about faith! so is " the secrete of jhonathan sperry" and "the pilgrims progress" i own the 3 of them, it is a refreshing in the spirit!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Joseph F
Date: Tuesday 18 January, 2011
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
This is a great film about real life struggle and how one man's faith changed a whole community and his faith became a witness that allowed God to heal people, provide food and other miracles! What a great film!!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Serene M
Date: Thursday 13 January, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
One of my favorite movies. Changes your faith!!!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Melodie S
Date: Monday 10 January, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Excellent movie! Our 11 year old enjoyed it also. I appreciated having our son see that US living is blessed and that other countries are in need much more then most Americans realize.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Paul M
Date: Wednesday 05 January, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
We enjoyed this movie very much. Was intense at times, especially with the main character's anger in ther beginning. But was an encouraging, faith-building story. Especially enjoyed watching the footage on the man whose story this is based. Great!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Mark S
Date: Saturday 25 December, 2010
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Best of the best Christian films. You want to be encouraged and inspired as a believer --- this is it. This movie can have an influence in changing a person's life.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Shelley S
Date: Wednesday 15 December, 2010
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Wow, based on a true story...unbelievable! My husband and I were encouraged and enjoyed this man's journey with God and his family. We're thrilled to find Christian Cinema b/c it helps us put our minds on wholesome, inspiring movies for the whole family.
This is a must-see. Great cast.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Kristin D
Date: Friday 10 December, 2010
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This was a great movie; wholesome entertainment. Our entire family piled up in the tv room and we were all blessed by the story! We have a copy for our home library! It's a keeper!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Charity J
Date: Sunday 21 November, 2010
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Good movie, very high quality filming and great actors. Heart touching film that really tugs at the heart and brings some tears of grief and tears of joy.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Stephanie L
Date: Saturday 16 October, 2010
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This was an amazing movie. I was so impressed, I bought six copies for Christmas gifts! Even more amazing is real interviews included in the extras.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: John and tina M
Date: Tuesday 07 September, 2010
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This movie was awesome! We loved the show and were amazed that it was a true story! It was soooooooooo good!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Shirley H
Date: Friday 20 August, 2010
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
My husband and I watched this movie twice before returning it, and plan on buying it soon to add to our library. I don't know when I have enjoyed a movie more, and knowing it is based on a true story made it even better. In this case, fact is much better than fiction could ever be. How wonderful to watch a movie where God is gloried in such a powerful way. What a great testimony of a life changed by the saving grace of Jesus Christ.
The story was fantastic, the acting was tremendous, the filming beautiful, the drama heart rending. What more can I say? I loved it and would highly recommend it to anyone. And who said "they don't make decent movies anymore?"


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Ethel S
Date: Monday 05 July, 2010
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
My husband and I tried watching this twice and never could finish it; totally boring and the sub-titles really get old. I'm glad to hear it gets better and has a faith-based message.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Jo dee a R
Date: Saturday 29 May, 2010
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
If I could give this movie more than five stars, I would! It is the best one I have been sent so far. I watched it five times! I will rent it again so I can watch it with my daughter. I plan to be a missionary in Spanish-speaking countries, so this movie intrigued me and blessed my socks off!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Vinson-ahna B
Date: Monday 19 April, 2010
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
We found this movie to be extremely entertaining and inspirational and would recommend it to all audiences.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Robert A
Date: Saturday 27 March, 2010
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Excellent! This movie far exceeded my expectatioms for a Christian movie. It was professionally done with grest actors. The plot was excellent, and what God achieved through him after his conversion was astronomical. I whole-heartedly recommend this movie for anyone to watch.

Bob


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Evelyn U
Date: Thursday 18 March, 2010
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT, MOVIE!!
It made me cry. It gave me hope. That for God nothing is impossible!!!!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Paul & kay M
Date: Thursday 18 March, 2010
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
One of the best movies, in all aspects-acting, story line, overall presentation- that it was a faith filled Christian movie made it even better.
Other Christian movie makers could learn from this on ho to improve their product.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Felica K
Date: Thursday 11 March, 2010
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Absolutely an AMAZING movie! We weaped, we praised, we sat in awe of our American lack of faith. This was truly an example of "child like" faith. We learned so much about ourselves (husband, myself, and our 11 year old). If you don't want to face the fact that your faith may be lacking, don't watch it. But, if you want your faith to be uplifted and challenged, then please don't miss it. Will be sharing with our church family.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Marina W
Date: Sunday 07 March, 2010
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I loved it, I cried and I was amazed. God does amazing things when people put their faith in Him.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Karen M
Date: Friday 05 March, 2010
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
It was a little hard to understand the dialect the first time I watched it. I started the movie again and the second time was much easier. I must say it was a great movie. It was such a blessing to see how the Lord changed the heart and mind of Angus. I think everyone should watch it.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Todd & kelley B
Date: Friday 05 February, 2010
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Our entire family, young & old, boys and girls, mom and dad, really enjoyed this movie. Like a previous reviewer, once you catch on the the accent, it's easy sailing and a very heart-warming story. We also watched all the DVD bonuses and they were good, too!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Karen W
Date: Tuesday 26 January, 2010
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Excellent movie, it was a little hard at first to understand the main actor accent, but you'll be so go glad you watched this movie, after 10 minutes or so you get use to the (I think) scottish accent. Enjoy!!!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Donnalynn S
Date: Friday 22 January, 2010
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
I had to give this movie some time because it seemed to not be going anywhere for a while. I almost shut it off. I am glad I hung in there. I am so spoiled with so many wonderful entertaining movies I often forget some recounts just need to be told as they are.

The amazing transformation God's truth made in Angus's life is one thing, his desire to share that is added. But he quickly comes to a couple of crossroads where he has to now walk this talk in a very uncomfortable way no human ever wants to experience.

I am reminded of what one of my favorite Pastor's likes to remind us, Job didn't read the book of Job before he lived his life. He didn't know the end at the beginning.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Debbie G
Date: Saturday 16 January, 2010
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Loved this movie! At first I said this is not a Christian movie and turned it off, but my friends told me to go back and watch it because he starts off lost. So I watched it again this time with the subtiitles on so I could understand it better...wow! We also watched the documentary. My son and I sat on the couch and cried because there was someone else like my husband who was sold out to Jesus. He is not in the ministry for self glory or the money, its about his love for Jesus. Touched our hearts and I am sure it will touch other too.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Joyce L
Date: Wednesday 13 January, 2010
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Good movie, but the Scottish/Zulu dialect was hard to understand sometimes. You really had to pay attention to this one, but it was worth it!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Yolanda M
Date: Friday 08 January, 2010
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
It was a little hard to understand them... I think turning on the subtitles really helped. And the accident scene was really hard to watch... but knowing that it was based on a true story was so cool. We really do serve an Awesome God!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Susan e C
Date: Thursday 31 December, 2009
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
This movie is a real blessing. It really showed the faith and the strength that God can give His children when we lean totally and trust totally on Him.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Karen B
Date: Monday 07 December, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
We enjoyed this movie very much...very inspiring. Love to see stories of real people. I highly recommend this movie.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Margaret G
Date: Saturday 21 November, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I really enjoyed this movie. I think that it is inspiring to see first hand even if it was only based on the mans life. I praise GOD for all that he has done through men like Angus.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Crystal B
Date: Friday 20 November, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Great movie and kid friendly too. Based a true story.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Yvette B
Date: Monday 16 November, 2009
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
I was able to watch the "documentary on the real life of Angus Buchan" before I actually viewed the DVD. The documentary was very inspiring. If you have a chance, make sure to view this also. I also noticed if you are viewing the comments under the buying section you can read all the reviews on one page, this is very helpful if there are a lot of reviews to read. If you are reading the reviews under the DVD rental section, however, you have to select each one to read.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Mark N
Date: Tuesday 03 November, 2009
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
Trying to be fair...

I agree with the concern over the very graphic portrayal of the boy being run over. I understand it really happened - I still didn't want to see it.

I agree the beginning of the movie can be tiresome because the father's bad behavior. But I resonates with the story of grace as he comes to know Christ as saviour.

Overall, I did enjoy the movie even with the subtitles. It was encouraging (though the boy's death is more than a bit disturbing).

I think a lot of us want give all Christian films 5 stars, but let's keep it real :)


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Tracy S
Date: Monday 02 November, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Outstanding movie for adults. I'd say the lowest age would be 16 or so. My wife and I found the acting to be very good as well as the filming, the locations and the plot. This film is very emotional and inspirational. Great job film!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Marisol S
Date: Wednesday 28 October, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
LIVING BY FAITH

The Holy Bible says,

Faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what you do not see. (Hebrews 11:1).

Without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe
that he exist and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him. (Hebrews 11:6).

My righteous one will live by faith. And if he shrinks back, I will not be pleased with him.

(Hebrews 10:38; Romans 1:17; Galatians 3:11; Habakkuk 2:4).


A faithful man will be richly blessed,....(Proverbs 28:20).


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Jacqueline A
Date: Friday 02 October, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Kept wondering when the struggles would end, but it is true to life the way it really is and sometimes we have to wait and trust and wait some more before we get a breakthrough. Loved the ending. If we could only all have that kind of Faith.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Tom C
Date: Sunday 06 September, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Inspirational. This is how life can unfold. He doesn't bury his head in the ground and become a cessationist, but believes the Word of God. Raw Faith needed for men in the making.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Deborah S
Date: Sunday 30 August, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Great movie ..well done..acting superb,,had trouble understanding them..they talked too low and mic were not positioned quite right,,otherwise awesome


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Carla B
Date: Thursday 27 August, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Very Powerful! The husbands conversion is real and powerful.
I love the way the husband is shown from before he is saved...to after! What a dramatic difference!

some here have said that the husband is abusive..that is true, before he is saved! God gets ahold of him and transforms his life....and the lives of many others due to his obedience.

It amazes me how Awesome God is. God uses us in spite of our humanness. God's Love is so Great toward us. This movie portrays that beautifully. Enjoy! I would not recommend younger kids watching it due to one of the scenes involving a tractor accident.. Perhaps 10yrs and up (depending on the child).


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Linda F
Date: Thursday 20 August, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Excellent movie. Plan to use this movie for movie night at our church's singles group.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Kevin C
Date: Monday 17 August, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
To answer the critic about the scene about the little boy who was killed, if you will watch the documentary on the DVD this really happened. The best thing that I can say about this movie is that it is very real. It also shows that God is very real. The boy who played the part in the movie look just like Angus Buchan's nephew who was killed in the tragic tractor accident. The story is very accurate and there is precious little liberty taken with facts. The casting was some of the best I have ever seen in a movie from any country. Anyone who does not understand the language needs to watch it over and over again. This film will change their life. I know it did mine. I can certainly identify with Angus right now. I have lost everything and I only have my faith in God and my Christian brothers to lean on at this time. God bless Angus and his ministry in SA.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Lois F
Date: Thursday 13 August, 2009
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
Not the best of movies, a lot of anger and immature behavior seen from the father (head of household). Was not interested in spending time observing or letting my family be influenced by what they were watching. We did not finish it to the end.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Don S
Date: Friday 07 August, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This is one of the best Christian movie I've ever seen! Some people complain that the accents make it difficult to understand but the movie comes with subtitles anyway. Not only that, their accents make the movie more real and true, close to the real thing. I have nothng but praise for this movie. Anyone Christian that would give this movie less than 5 stars would surprise me! What's just as compacting about this DVD is looking at the bonus section where you get to meet the real people and hear their story!

This movie easily ranks right up there with Flywheel, Facing the Giants, and Fireproof which are also some of my most favorite movies!

Prepare to be inspired. any true life movie or fiction that directs our attention wholeheartedly upon the Lord and His majesty is a top-rated movie in my book!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Elizabeth F
Date: Monday 03 August, 2009
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic movie. Faith building, great family film. One scene requires caution with young children. Special features were great, especially the interviews with the real Angus Buchan. Very encouraging toward acting on our faith. Great gospel message. Only reason we didn't give it 5 stars was because it was a bit long and slow in some places. Overall, however, it was fantastic. Highly recommend this film.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Ana I
Date: Sunday 19 July, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Es una pelicula bastante buena tanto en la actuacion como en los detalles de la historia, realmente sorprendente la fe de este hombre protagonista y su familia.

la recomiendo bastante comprela siempre es bueno tener alguna historia inspiradora para alguna persona especial o momento especial. en esta pelicula podemos ver que la realidad no esta lejos de la ficcion.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Christin S
Date: Sunday 19 July, 2009
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
This Movie was very powerful. I really liked the way that the lead character came to Christ. It showed how simple it can be then how Christ leads you to bigger and better things. It was hard to understand the different accents, so be preparded to hunker down in a quit place to enjoy.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Kitrena P
Date: Saturday 11 July, 2009
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
The plot was good but I don't like movies where I have to read subtitles to watch a movie thanks


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Laura P
Date: Monday 06 July, 2009
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Great message and very inspiring! Cast and setting was excellent! Highly recommend.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Dan M
Date: Monday 29 June, 2009
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
The story is immensely moving. The acting, especially that of the lead character, particularly good. It was a little hard to understand their accents at first (wish it had subtitles).

I gave it four, not five stars because PLEASE BEWARE: There is a tragic and VERY graphic accident that involves a beautiful young boy riding on a tractor. I do not recall ever giving away movie or book details in a review before however in this case, I feel the need to make an exception. It upset me greatly that they portrayed it in such horrifying detail. I even tried to fast forward to get past it but saw much more than I ever wanted to see.

Reminded me of a Disney feature (meant for children, supposedly safe to watch, but then they almost always add something evil and frightening in their films that terrifies young children).


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Christie S
Date: Wednesday 10 June, 2009
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
EXCELLENT! but.... the reason i'm only giving it 4 stars is because the accents are so thick that in many scenes, you can't understand what is being said. otherwise, i can't say enough about this movie! the acting was superb! the journey of this man's faith was quite amazing. before giving his life to Christ, he was full of rage and prone to drinking. the transformation from an angry, sometimes abusive jerk to a loving, compassionate man with a deep and abiding faith in God was beautiful to watch.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Michele M
Date: Friday 05 June, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This was a awesome movie. I would recommend it very highly. I watched it several times and every time I was more intrigued by it. I will be buying this movie in the near future.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Diana D
Date: Tuesday 26 May, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
We thought this was an excellent movie. It's dramatic, honoring to God, and is quite inspiring. Our 8 year old daughter was able to watch this with us. There are a few scenes that we monitored (the husband gets severely drunk and can be abusive toward others), but it wasn't too much for our child. I would not recommend it for younger children. It's more of a tween to adult movie. The conversion of this man was amazing and made us want to read the book too. The acting is excellent!!! A must watch. We own this movie. It's a long movie but is engaging to the very end.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Aneva W
Date: Friday 15 May, 2009
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
The movie Faith Like Potatoes was VERY slow getting started. But it had a very good plot. There were some very inspiring scenes and really made me think about how 'childlike' we need to not only give voice to our faith but to to practice it. This is certainly an adult film as I think children would be very bored.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Lighthouse community C
Date: Monday 11 May, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This movie is an all around powerful, clean, movie. I love that fact that it is based on a true story, so it has the ups and downs that life throws our way, but shows that God is victorious. Great acting, great message, I have been reccomending it to everyone I talk to. This movie is sure to make you have a reality check with your own life and if you are getting out of your confort zone or not.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Julie B
Date: Wednesday 06 May, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I enjoyed this movie so much,, I am buying another copy as we lend out our movies...
The acting is fantastic,,, the best Christian movie I have,, and I have lots..
The transformation after the conversion is absolutely excellent.
Julie


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Melissa L
Date: Sunday 03 May, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I watched this after seeing FireProof, what an amazing movie! I have never been touched like I was during this movie. It have restored my faith because of this, cried and prayed to our Almighity Savior for the tools and strength to be a better women, mom, and most important Christian. This is a movie that I will tell everyone about may God continue to bless all of us and to continue working thru me to be a better person.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Janet O
Date: Sunday 03 May, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Wonderful movie. Really hits home. We've all been there, in a place without Christ and then we find Him and great things happen and even when sad things happen, He's there for us. Great message. Inspiring.


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Susan S
Date: Tuesday 28 April, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
What an inspiring movie. This accurately portrayed how unsettling life can be before Christ transforms us to new creations, and what a great a mighty work the Lord can do if we make ourselves available to Him. It's not often we can see what a wholly commited life can be like but Angus Buchan certainly reveals that in this story. Beautifully displays conversion, dedication of purpose, integrity, comfort in the midst of unbelievable sorrow and total dependence on the Lord and His direction in life. I loved watching all the behind the scenes bits on this DVD as well. God especially loves to work out His purposes through seemingly vast impossibilities. What an awesome God we serve!!!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Tracy R
Date: Friday 24 April, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Found this one at the grocery store in a "Redbox". Although had never heard about it, thought I'd give it a try. What a GREAT movie! We were pleasantly surprised and want to be sure and add it to our movie collection. I've been telling everyone that they need to see this movie!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Kevin B
Date: Tuesday 21 April, 2009
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
One of the best Christian movies my wife and I have seen in a while. We thought the acting was good, the portrayal of conversion, realistic, (as we have witnessed such salvation experiences) and the whole story very inspiring, challenging, and moving. I was stirred to pursue with greater passion my own purpose in God. The only criticism would be that the beginning was a bit slow-moving, in my opinon. Overall, however, I would recommend Faith Like Potatoes with 4 stars!


Title: Faith Like Potatoes - DVD
Reviewed By: Karen N
Date: Friday 03 April, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This is an awesome film, of a man that was angry, bitter, full of pride and very much in the world BUT God had a plan and an amazing purpose for Angus and his family. See God transform someone before your very eyes, who now preaches to thousands.

The film is very real and very touching. Have tissues on hand!!


Back
DIGITAL BEST SELLING
BUYER REVIEWS [more...]
Faith Like Potatoes
5 of 5 Stars!
Faith Like Potatoes
Totally awesome, totally uplifting, totally heart wrenching, wonderful wonderful movie!! Would recommend to everyone over the age of 13...some parts are pretty... [read more]
Quote For The Day
"Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge."
- Psalm 68:2 (NIV)

What customers say about ChristianCinema.com:
" This was my first purchase from Christian Cinema and it was very positive. I was well informed on availability and mailing dates, etc. and the product I recieved was well packaged and in good condition and exactly what I ordered. I will be making other orders in the near future." - Kathleen Johnson