SHOP CATEGORIES
FEATURED
WHAT'S NEW   [more...]
Worth
Waterproof - DVD Reviews
Displaying 22 reviews       Back
Waterproof - DVD
%
off!
Waterproof - DVD

A dramatic journey of restoration and salvation.


Title: Waterproof - DVD
Reviewed By: Lana N
Date: Thursday 18 June, 2015
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Waterproof - DVD
Reviewed By: Patti B
Date: Saturday 11 April, 2015
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Waterproof - DVD
Reviewed By: Sally Z
Date: Monday 02 March, 2015
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Waterproof - DVD
Reviewed By: Bonnie Y
Date: Thursday 27 November, 2014
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Waterproof - DVD
Reviewed By: Gloria S
Date: Sunday 15 June, 2014
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Waterproof - DVD
Reviewed By: Lillian D
Date: Wednesday 15 January, 2014
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Waterproof - DVD
Reviewed By: Jennifer G
Date: Monday 18 November, 2013
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Waterproof - DVD
Reviewed By: John thomas B
Date: Friday 23 August, 2013
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Waterproof - DVD
Reviewed By: Mark S
Date: Monday 06 May, 2013
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Waterproof - DVD
Reviewed By: James B
Date: Wednesday 17 April, 2013
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Waterproof - DVD
Reviewed By: Justin D
Date: Sunday 17 February, 2013
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Waterproof - DVD
Reviewed By: Scott I
Date: Monday 21 January, 2013
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Waterproof - DVD
Reviewed By: Scott L
Date: Sunday 06 January, 2013
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Waterproof - DVD
Reviewed By: Dale H
Date: Saturday 13 October, 2012
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Waterproof - DVD
Reviewed By: Richard and linda D
Date: Thursday 02 August, 2012
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
Waterproof, primarily shot in Waterproof (Louisiana), begins somewhat slowly, but ends with a triumphant conversion scene. Essentially, it would be quite difficult to find the one star that stands out in this movie, since all the performers do a superb job in their roles. Burt Reynolds plays the part of Eli Zeal, a Washington, DC, Jewish shopkeeper, who is shot by a tween (Thaniel Battle is played by Cordereau Dye and is stated to be eleven). Thaniel’s mother, played by April Grace, is Tyree; who, upon learning of the shooting, kidnaps Eli and drives him, in her cab, to her childhood home, in Waterproof. Sugar, an 11 year old who's mother, Tyree Battle, a cab driver. In an effort to keep her son out of jail she kidnaps Eli and takes him to her hometown of Waterproof. There her Grandfather, Sugar, played by Whitman Mayo, is Tyree’s grandfather, and Eli’s care falls to him (using sunsets and ground spider legs). Nat, played by Orlando Jones, is severely brain damages, and as events unfold, plays a pivotal role in the film. The first half of the film, as previously stated, is somewhat slow moving, but once the family (and Eli) attends their first church service, things move briskly. Enjoy!


Title: Waterproof - DVD
Reviewed By: Mark F
Date: Monday 14 March, 2011
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
OK I believe in giving credit where credit is due, so I have to say compared to the notoriously cheesey low-budget image that Christian film is known for, this flick is pretty good acting-wise and production-wise. However the writing is just so-so and the story isn't compelling. It has a good message but is very generic/unoriginal. It's slow-moving at times and often uninteresting. I don't recommend it but then maybe others will take something away from it that I didn't.


Title: Waterproof - DVD
Reviewed By: Michelle H
Date: Thursday 10 February, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
In response to Michael- When I watch this movie I don't see that person as a witch Doctor. I grew up with a grandmother who had all kind of natural cures for anything that ailed you. They were always disgusting. I just saw that person like my grandmother who never used conventional medicine to cure you but strange recipes and ideas to cure you.


Title: Waterproof - DVD
Reviewed By: Michelle H
Date: Thursday 10 February, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I love this movie! I have watched it over and over again.


Title: Waterproof - DVD
Reviewed By: Michael W
Date: Saturday 05 February, 2011
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
I had mixed feelings about this one. On one hand, it was a fairly good drama. Waterproof was moderately successful in creating a touching story of people coming together despite a wide variety of backgrounds. That said, there were some elements I found....strange.

I was mildly disturbed by two elements that seem like they should be pointed out, more than avoided. The first is that the main character winds up being taken care of by a witchdoctor, that makes him a "medicine" of spider legs. Second, also relating to the witchdoctor character, is the emphasis on the sun and sunrises. Which does make him come off like a sun worshipper. That theme seems to affect the plot and eludes to God being somehow equated to the sun, as Burt Reynold's character has to wait for these sunrises to heal while he drinks spiderleg potions.(and eventually seems to enjoy it Yech)

All told, it was just an okay movie.


Title: Waterproof - DVD
Reviewed By: Tim S
Date: Saturday 29 April, 2006
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
If this had not been a "Christian" film, I am sure it would have been considered as a truly great film for Burt Renyolds, and possibly could have gotten him an oscar nodd. This film is very touching, but I would not let your kids watch it, especially the younger one's. It is rough, and it should be for the topics that they discuss. The acting is very good, as good as any film I have ever seen. There seem to be very few films in the Christian market that seem to be up there, in quality, and production, but this is one of them.


Title: Waterproof - DVD
Reviewed By: David M
Date: Tuesday 25 April, 2006
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
A good solid drama, though a little slow-moving at times.


Title: Waterproof - DVD
Reviewed By: Elisabeth H
Date: Monday 23 February, 2004
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This Film Waterproof is Excellent ! Every Family should have this Outstanding Film ! For those of us who are already Bornagain , You will be Praising the Lord ! Waterproof is a Wonderful way to share God's Loving Word of Salvation . Pick up a Copy for yourself and for the Love ones in your live that need to find Peace in Gods Love . This film will make you Laugh , Cry and Praise the Lord ! Trust me you will be Glad you purchased this Film . God Bless


Back
DIGITAL BEST SELLING
BUYER REVIEWS [more...]
Waterproof
5 of 5 Stars!
Waterproof
I love this movie! I have watched it over and over again. ... [read more]
Quote For The Day
"Think of ways to encourage one another to outbursts of love and good deeds."
- Hebrews 10:24

What customers say about ChristianCinema.com:
"Great company!" - Brooke Roling