SHOP CATEGORIES
FEATURED
WHAT'S NEW   [more...]
The Noah Interview
The Ultimate Gift - DVD Reviews
Displaying 28 reviews       Back
The Ultimate Gift - DVD
67%
off!
The Ultimate Gift - DVD

Jason thought his inheritance was going to be a gift of money and lots of it. Was he ever in for a big surprise.


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Christine H
Date: Tuesday 05 July, 2016
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
A must have in any movie collection.Well acted.Great plot.Gives various moral take away messeges for all.Well written.


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Linsey A
Date: Tuesday 27 January, 2015
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Gloria S
Date: Tuesday 18 November, 2014
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Diana E
Date: Sunday 14 September, 2014
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: James B
Date: Wednesday 20 February, 2013
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Janet M
Date: Thursday 29 November, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Ben U
Date: Friday 28 September, 2012
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
Lately, for once a month, I have a Christian movie night with some friends and associates; I hope one day it turns into something locally dominant. One of those nights I told people about another movie I liked called Smitty and an associate told me “I think you’d like ‘The Ultimate Gift’ better.” He was surprised that I hadn’t seen that movie yet, and because the trailer looked promising I decided to pick up a copy and watch The Ultimate Gift for myself.

The Ultimate Gift, a movie which was based on the book written by Jim Stovall, concerns a privileged young man named Jason. Jason and much of his relatives recently learn of the death of Howard “red” Stevens, a very-very rich man. Unlike his other relatives, Jason doesn’t really care about Red’s will reading let alone his funeral, until Red’s lawyer approaches him. The lawyer reveals to Jason that Red has a special gift, which Red himself nicknames “The Ultimate Gift”, and in order to receive this and other gifts along the way Jason must go through a court ordered journey. If Jason fails this journey, he doesn’t receive anything… What is it that Jason is supposed to receive? Is it just money like his greedy relatives believe, or is it something more?

The Ultimate Gift certainly does promote some valuable lessons and much of the gifts are indeed worth while for everyone. However, I agree with the sentiment of certain critics I’ve read online recently in that “The Ultimate Gift” should have been “The Gift of Salvation” considering I was told this was a Christian film; and written by a Christian author. I’m disappointed that the main character, though learning some valuable lessons, doesn’t show in the movie he necessarily embraced Jesus Christ as Lord; it’s possible he may have but there’s no concrete evidence he did. Unlike my outrage for Like Dandelion Dust, however, this movie does show Christians in a positive light and does actually give the viewer some sort of inspiration; not as much as I was expecting but some nevertheless. The movie itself is really good in that the acting is great and the story is overall a well written script, but I must dock a few points for the theological aspect which is important for any film which calls itself “Christian”… As Gavin Macleod’s character in the movie Time Changer once said “Satan isn’t opposed to good morals, he’s opposed to Jesus Christ.” Without Jesus in the picture, the ideas though beneficial are a form of legalism…


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Carol S
Date: Thursday 30 August, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: James R
Date: Friday 22 June, 2012
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
WOW what a disappointment! The movie had a great storyline, good acting and humor but why ruin it with some of the women dressing inappropiate! Skimpy dresses, plunging necklines and one scene where a mother answers her door in lingerie, you get the picture. Come on now, was that necessary! I would definitly take away the family approved, dove symbol.


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Karen B
Date: Saturday 24 March, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Great movie. The story, acting, and cinematography were excellent.


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: April divine L
Date: Tuesday 27 December, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Christi C
Date: Wednesday 16 November, 2011
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Christie S
Date: Thursday 17 March, 2011
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
i have to agree with the others who said that there isn't a strong enough christian voice to be heard in this one. but, frankly i don't think it was meant to be a christian film, just hollywood's version a family friendly one. and it certainly delivers on that aspect. the story is touching and heartwarming, the performances are stellar, and i loved seeing james garner in his role!


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Serene M
Date: Thursday 13 January, 2011
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
I loved this movie! But I wish there was a stronger Christian message in it. I think this movie was still a great one to watch though. One of my favorites!! Changed your perspective of work and how it is good for us. And the value of life by living a meaningful life. Wish the meaning was more Christ centered though.


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Mike S
Date: Sunday 08 November, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Really great movie. I will watch this one many times.
Story is great, ineresting way to collect your inheritance.


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Allan T
Date: Tuesday 01 September, 2009
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
I was soooo dissapointed with this movie. I bought it on a Christian website but it has not even one Christian character in it. It focuses on people's greed and the worse part was watching this girl slowly die and her own mother and this lost boy were her only chance at finding out about the truth of God and instead when she asks a question about God, he makes it worse. Please take this out of Christian websites, I gave my copy away to a non-believer at work but I should have just thrown it in the garbage.


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Stephanie T
Date: Wednesday 18 March, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Everyone in our family loved it, and that does not happen at all usually!


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Della S
Date: Friday 06 February, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Wonderful movie!! Great for the family. Have your tissues ready, this is a real tear jerker, with a fabulous message.


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Patrick W
Date: Tuesday 18 November, 2008
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Our entire family really enjoyed this well produced and directed movie. It was a touching, warming, and learning adventure with a blanced mix of action, drama and teaching.


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Paul and susan B
Date: Monday 14 July, 2008
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
We enjoyed the movie--and appreciated the way it taught, "theres more to life, than focusing on yourself". The only thing that bothered me, was the claim---that this was the ultimate gift--serving others instead of self. Some of us know that's impossible without a relationship with Christ, and him changing us. It was well done, just a little weak in that one area.


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Patty H
Date: Monday 30 June, 2008
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I heard about this movie and bought it to watch. I very much enjoyed the story. This is the funny part that bothered me and having been a nurse and cared for individuals with cancer I felt the young lady having the deep lipcolor was a bit much. I told you it was funny but that bothered me seeing her like that. The story line was beautiful though and I will watch it again and again. PH


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Heike L
Date: Wednesday 27 February, 2008
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Just get the tissues out, a movie with a lot of heart.
Every one in the family just loves the movie, worth to watch by yourself or with friends.


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Patrick W
Date: Thursday 03 January, 2008
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
This is a very well done, family-friendly movie. Although it could have presented more from a Biblical perspective, the positive morals it enforced were very noteworthy.


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Christine P
Date: Wednesday 02 January, 2008
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
The story outline was good, very touching, and the acting was well performed. The only reason I did not give this movie a 5 star was because we were quite disappointed that in the end, the main character just had a moral conversion. Yes, he said God a few times, but in a world like today, we really don't WHO God is. We really would have liked it a lot better if it had some real Jesus in it. Time is short and the message that Christ loves you and will save you if you only believe can often be well delivered through movies. However, despite that, the movie was interesting and well made.


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Moses B
Date: Tuesday 11 September, 2007
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This was a great film! Great acting and a well written movie. This movie was inspiring. A great family feature. I thought that the main character could have had more of a revelation about Christ/God in particular, where-as here it's presented as a more general moral transformation... (possibly in order to appeal to a wider audience?). Overall I loved the movie, and would love to see more oscar nominated actors/actresses doing movies with a message.


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Ron S
Date: Saturday 08 September, 2007
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I had heard about the book the Ultimate Gift from my friend Mike. He spoke very highly of the author, and his book. I read the book and loved it and thought the movie will not be as good as the book. When my wife karen and I go to a movie usually one of us falls asleep. Neither one of us feel asleep and we need a book of tissues between us. Then movie is by far the very best movie I have ever seen !!!!!
Thank You RON


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Angela S
Date: Tuesday 04 September, 2007
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This movie is AWESOME, even my husband shed tears, we absolutly loved this movie and will pass it on to everyone we know!!!!!


Title: The Ultimate Gift - DVD
Reviewed By: Donnalynn S
Date: Thursday 30 August, 2007
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
And to think I almost didn't buy this DVD....

Every once in a while a movie comes along that is so moving that you watch every last second of the credits hoping it will never end.

This movie needed to be predictable to keep its audience right where they wanted to be. Thank you to all who took part in the making of it. I just took a trip through life in this movie that should never allow me to be the same again.


Back
DIGITAL BEST SELLING
BUYER REVIEWS [more...]
The Ultimate Gift
5 of 5 Stars!
The Ultimate Gift
A must have in any movie collection.Well acted.Great plot.Gives various moral take away messeges for all.Well written.... [read more]
Quote For The Day
"Christ is the visible image of the invisible God. He existed before God made anything at all and is supreme over all creation. Christ is the one through whom God created everything in heaven and earth. He made the things we can see and the things we can't see-kings, kingdoms, rulers, and authorities. Everything has been created through him and for him. He existed before everything else began, and he holds all creation together."
- Colossians 1:15-17

What customers say about ChristianCinema.com:
"Great company!" - Brooke Roling