SHOP CATEGORIES
WHAT'S NEW   [more...]
Jeremy Nunes: Whos With Me?
One Night With The King - DVD Reviews
Displaying 42 reviews       Back
One Night With The King - DVD
%
off!
One Night With The King - DVD

The hit movie from FoxFaith based on Tommy Tenney's best-selling book starring Peter O'Toole & Omar Sharif.


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Theresa T
Date: Saturday 11 February, 2017
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I truly enjoyed it. Although it was not 100% accurate, you have to remember it is a movie done in Hollywood and most things there are done differently anyway, but it tried to stay at least on point of doing what was right and on the end when the king was asked to do the right thing, what did the king decide to do? Follow the laws or his land? Or the laws of his heart? You can find a lot of comfort in knowing that you did the right according to the law of God.

The scenery was beautiful, the costumes were really great. I would definitely recommend that you watch it just to say you experienced it. I\'m glad, this is one I did not miss!!!


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Richard and linda D
Date: Friday 14 August, 2015
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
One Night with the King is a fairly accurate rendition of Esther's powerful story. No film can be 100% Biblically accurate, but this comes close. Yes, multiple comments have been made about how this film differs from the Bible; but those comments somehow do not take into account that the Bible is not written in screenplay format. Enjoy!


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Tara B
Date: Thursday 11 September, 2014
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: James B
Date: Tuesday 17 December, 2013
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Katherine L
Date: Saturday 21 September, 2013
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Ann J
Date: Sunday 01 September, 2013
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
It was OK. About 10% Bible and 90% Hollywood, but not overly offensive. The emotional drama between Esther and the king was a bit much at times. The true story was in there, but we had to wade through the fluff. OK for family viewing though.


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Gail N
Date: Sunday 24 March, 2013
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Bob H
Date: Tuesday 12 February, 2013
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
A little hard to follow if you're not well versed in your Bible


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Julie G
Date: Friday 01 February, 2013
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Mauro jimenez
Date: Friday 11 January, 2013
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Cindy P
Date: Wednesday 07 November, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Janet M
Date: Monday 08 October, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Scott I
Date: Tuesday 02 October, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Karen B
Date: Friday 20 July, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I have watched so many Christian films of low quality, that this is extremely refreshing. Movies should be a feast for the eyes, as well as tell a story. This is just such a feast. I would have prefered that the actor who played Haman would have switched roles and played the king but the actor playing the king sold himself by the end and that is good acting.
I am tired of the pick-pick attitudes about following scripture to a tee. I know my Bible well and I believe that our Lord loves creativity to express His people's character and His purposes. His truth is immutable and this movie does not defile.
I would strongly recommend this, in particular as a woman's movie treat.


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Marlene weekley H
Date: Friday 20 July, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
A hugh wonderful surprise!! Fabulous acting, fabulous sets, costumes and most of the text taken straight from the Book of Esther. A fabulous movie that I cherish. I confess I have two copies, one extra in case I lose or break a copy. I never tire of looking at it. Luke Goss is a wonderful king as well as Tiffany Dupont a wonderful Esther. The rest of the cast is wonderful. James Callis that plays the evil Hamman was superb right down to the last scene. A wonderful love story between the King and esther with tender scenes filled with faith, not sex!!!! John Rhys Davies was the perfect Mordecai and Peter O'Toole a very good Samuel the Prophet.

I had to read the Book of Esther which is a small book in the old testament to remember the details. Once I did that it all made more sense, as the film moves quickly.

Highly recommend if you like suspense, high drama as only the old testament can give. A fabulous look at life 538 yrs before the birth of Christ.


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Rodolfo e. martinez
Date: Monday 23 April, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
It was the most wonderful experience watching this movie. It brought life to the book of Ester in the bible! It reminds you that God is always in control of your life regardles of your circumtances.


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Yessenia G
Date: Wednesday 11 April, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
what an inspiring story, truly loveed it.. this is how our faith and courage should always be with the lord!!!


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Milton K
Date: Monday 02 January, 2012
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
AVOID!

I should have researched further before adding this to my queue. If you see a scathing review of this film, you should presume that the writer is right on.

This is the usual Hollyweird garbage with a "Biblesque" (not "Biblical") storyline. It's more dangerous than outright anti-Biblical fiction, so it's important to pass on this.


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Milton K
Date: Monday 02 January, 2012
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Coralyn V
Date: Tuesday 30 August, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Not completely Biblical, but great movie! Just check out the facts in Scripture before/after!


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Jessica S
Date: Monday 22 August, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I enjoy watching a faith based movie that has some suspense and drama!


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Mary V
Date: Friday 20 May, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
own the movie. accurate. well written, good actors; actresses. well, just a great movie


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Theresa V
Date: Tuesday 01 February, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I absolutely love this story not for the romance but for the that is portrayed in the story. The obedience of Ester to do God's work against all odds was pulled through in this story.


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Sharon D
Date: Tuesday 12 October, 2010
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
I liked this movie as far as a hollywood movie... but as a depiction of a biblical story it fails miserably. Haman was arrogant till the end in this movie... in the bible he was scared out of his mind because he knew he was going to be executed. I like biblical movies to follow scripture as much as is possible. I do not see this one even trying to do that. Disappointing!


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Tewonie R
Date: Tuesday 02 March, 2010
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I love this movie and I give it five stars. I sit and watch this movie as if I have never seen it before. I love the way the actor plays the king in this movie. He is so passionate and I feel that christians need to know that it is okay to be passionate. I also think this movie accompanied the bible story of Esther.This movie gives me hope that I will experience that type of passion in my life.


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Bambi W
Date: Friday 15 January, 2010
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Read up on it before you watch it so you aren't lost. I loved this movie. I bought it after watching it.


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Shandi O
Date: Tuesday 25 August, 2009
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
We really enjoyed this movie. However, If you want to watch a Great Ester movie try the Biblical Drama "Ester".


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Steve D
Date: Monday 20 April, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Excellent movie. Scriptural accuracy suffers very little and story is well told and is also very exciting! Well done!


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Katherine van Z
Date: Monday 04 August, 2008
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
An amazing movie. They've added some to the story, but it helps you to realize what it was really like for Esther. Its an amazing movie. Great for an all girl sleepover or chick flick night.


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Christopher O
Date: Saturday 23 February, 2008
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
One Night With The King





What Is It?

Based on the Tommy Tenney , Mark Andrew Olsen novel Hadassah, “One Night With The King”, it is an expansion of the Biblical story of Esther. The plot is the one you know, with the addition of a political plan to stop Greece and gain vengeance for the Kings murdered father.

How Was It?

It starts off shaky, gets good then drags on it’s way to a satisfying ending. This is an accomplishment considering the screen writer (Stephan Blinn) and the director (Michael O. Sajbel) are separately responsible for some of the absolute worst Christian films ever. The feel of the movie seems a bit like someone jumped a camel from “the Ten Commandments” grabbed “Belle” away from “…the Beast” and dropped her in Middle Earth, where she was to reenact Bible stories, accompanied by a king who shares a make up artist with Captian Jack Sparrow.

LOTR fans will recognize John Rhys-Davies or Gimli, narrating as Mordecai . Furthermore, you will also spot obvious knods to Gandalf’s helpful moth, the flame lit fortress in Mordor, the forging of the Orc’s swords, Saruman’s speeches to the armies, Aragon’s dramatic entrance through the giant doors of Helms Deep, the black riders and even theOne Ring, itself, revealing it’s message by fire.

Though there is lots that we have all seen before, they are emulating some of the best film has to offer and do it with decent actors, solid photography and a very large budget. Little touches like having Haman’s symbol look surprisingly like a swastika, and the evil advisors fearing the Greeks because the will bring democracy (more the American version than the Greek) border between cute and silly but don’t detract from the story. There are a couple holes left unresolved like a “Three’s Company” style misunderstanding and Esther’s questions about Queen Vashti that are never answered. Despite these down falls, it is a very watchable movie.

Is It Good For Kids?

There are some parts that are a bit scary and dark and Queen Vashti shows some cleavage at one point. Other than that, there is some bloodless action to keep the boys interested and some “princess movie” elements for the girls.

You can check Screenit.com for a complete breakdown of the elements presented.

What About Spiritual Issues?

For the most part all the Bible story is here. It’s just “more flushed out.” They incorporate elements from other parts of the Bible as well as retelling of some of the actual stories themselves. There is even the utterance of a Messianic Prophecy.

The only change I found distracting was the kings selection process for a new queen. First the other girls were all so dreadfully silly, that there was no real competition. Second he avoided having his “one night” with any other girl and then asked Esther to be his queen before their evening really started. I found this nod to the American romantic sensibilities more out of place and silly than the democracy comments.

Despite there additions and rewrites, there is nothing that changes the ultimate message of the book and it certainly lines up with the message of the Bible.

What Is Your Recommendation?

It’s a movie you may enjoy. It’s well worth watching, especially if you have friends who are interested in the film.

I always find it fun (especially with kids) to read the Bible story first, talk about what happened, and then watch the movie and compare them.

“One Night with the King” offers plenty to entertain as well as inspire thought.

Still, for my money, I much prefer the 1999 TV movie Esther (now on DVD) that, though not quite as grand, captures the beauty of the story much better while keeping a stricter focus on the original text and giving us a smoother story.


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Shirley B
Date: Monday 14 January, 2008
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This movie was awesome! Tiffany Dupont and Luke Gause were perfect for their roles, but I must admit Tiny Lister really added something special to the whole movie. Must say this movie was well written as well as well acted. I loved Queen Vashti too. Wish she could have been in the movie a little longer.


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Lei L
Date: Sunday 07 October, 2007
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
An exceptional portrayal of an ancient people . In past movies, romance was predominant but in this rendition there is balance. It shared struggles that were overcome thru trust, faith, strength, obedience and the greatest commandment of all, love for God and mankind. I must also comment the wonderful music and the beautiful voice of Jennie Tenney whose lyrics summed the true feelings of love of a Queen for her King. In summation, this movie is like a great book, you don't want to put it away. This is 10+


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Marie M
Date: Sunday 30 September, 2007
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic family movie. Acting, cinematopgraphy, costuming and music all the highest quality. Nice to see a clean movie with a PLOT instead of a series of speical effects, i.e it is not for those who want mindless sensory stimulation! thought the villain was superb!!!


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Ila F
Date: Thursday 20 September, 2007
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
This was a well done movie I felt that they tried to stay true to scripture with most of it and there was just one thing I felt didn't completely line up but the message was well done and stronge and acting very believable. I felt I was there with them.


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Moses B
Date: Tuesday 11 September, 2007
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
My anticipation was high for this movie. Building since I first saw previews on TBN and researched the movie on the internet, It didn't quite meet my expectations. Production value was of a high quality, though some of the acting (outside of "Eshter, the main villain, and Tini Lister) was of the "TV MOVIE SPECIAL" variety. The king in particular was a bit wooden. The pacing was slower than what I pictured while reading the exciting story of Esther in the Bible, though I'm happy to even have had the option in theaters. I will support all Christian films of a good quality, and I pray that this film will open up doors to more quality Christian films in the future.


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Richard T
Date: Sunday 22 April, 2007
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
I have been wanting to see this movie pretty much since I first heard about it. Finally yesterday I got to because my wife and our 15 year old daughter had chosen it for their movie night. I got home from Saturday night worship and sat down in the living room together and we watched it.

The actress playing Esther was wonderful. Playful, free spirited, yet changeable to listen and do what was necessary in that difficult time. The other actors played their parts well too. The king was so multi-faceted, really good to watch. The "bad guys" played their parts to the hilt.

So I really liked the acting, I thought it really showed how a young woman and a king could fall in love and not have her just forced to marry him.

But their were some real problems with the whole thing. I thought the set up for the villain was overdone and detracted from what was happening. Adding that "history" in there really dragged it down for me. I kept thinking, and my family did as well, what are they saying? What is this about?

I was glad that we had rented the movie and seen it but I was also glad that we hadn't purchased it. It was overcomplicated. I suppose for those who can get past all that, there is a great story of love and speaking up for your people when needed.

Like I said Esther was great...I wanted more of that, or at least less of the complicating issues.


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Nichole R
Date: Saturday 07 April, 2007
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This was a great movie! It is so nice to see quality movies being made and coming to local theaters. All Christians should support these movies being made and start bringing God back into our theaters and into Hollywood. I have shared this movie with family and friends and they have all enjoyed it.


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Ramondo G
Date: Friday 23 March, 2007
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I watched this movie tonight with my wife; I had consistently put off purchasing this DVD. I am glad I finally did. Though obviously dramitized to pull audiences, nevertheless, thank you, thank you, thank you. If that is what we must do to bring "the word" to audiences, it works for us. We thoroughly enjoyed "One Night With The King." Thank you FoxFaith!


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Donna H
Date: Tuesday 20 February, 2007
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
We watched this movie with another family and all of us were pretty disappointed that it didn't stick with the true biblical story at all. It's advertised as being true to the bible but it wasn't. Yes, there were some accurate parts but not enough. And way too much was dramatized.
The Biblical story of Esther is good enough, it didn't need added to to make it more appealing.


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Cathy B
Date: Thursday 15 February, 2007
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
I will watch this movie again to see if I was wrong, but I was very disappointed with the audio, I could not understand alot of what was being said, and had to
go back and listen to parts over again. I also thought that it was very dark.
I couldn't always see what was happening because of the lighting. I was so looking forward to seeing this one and was sorely disappointed.


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Darla W
Date: Saturday 20 January, 2007
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Had been studying "Esther" in our Wednesday night Bible Study at church. Watched this movie on TBN upon release 12/31/06. It was just wonderful, it brought the Bible story to life and helped me to realize when we are open to our Lord He will guide us to our ultimate desitny...which for the Christian is to be in Glory with Him! Read to book, watch the movie...know God is at work in both, let Him lead in life!


Title: One Night With The King - DVD
Reviewed By: Tashima S
Date: Friday 01 December, 2006
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
LOVED THIS MOVIE!!! I watched it on the big screen, and had to rent it.


Back
DIGITAL BEST SELLING
BUYER REVIEWS [more...]
One Night With The King
5 of 5 Stars!
One Night With The King
I truly enjoyed it. Although it was not 100% accurate, you have to remember it is a movie done in Hollywood and... [read more]
Quote For The Day
"But if we confess our sins to him, he is faithful and just to forgive us and to cleanse us from every wrong."
- 1 John 1:9

What customers say about ChristianCinema.com:
"It is very interesting that I can get all Christian DVD movies in one place." - Orlene Wallen