SHOP CATEGORIES
FEATURED
WHAT'S NEW   [more...]
Sandi Patty: Forever Grateful: Live From the Farewell Tour - DVD
Sandi Patty: Forever Grateful: Live From the Farewell Tour - DVD
Live from her Farewell Tour
The Book of Esther - DVD Reviews
Displaying 15 reviews      Write Review Back
The Book of Esther - DVD
%
off!
The Book of Esther - DVD

Based on the Book of Esther

List Price: $9.99
Your Price: $4.95
In Cart

Title: The Book of Esther - DVD
Reviewed By: James e ethan L
Date: Sunday, April 30, 2017
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Book of Esther - DVD
Reviewed By: Mary M
Date: Sunday, August 10, 2014
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Book of Esther - DVD
Reviewed By: Sheryl T
Date: Saturday, June 28, 2014
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Book of Esther - DVD
Reviewed By: Lana S
Date: Tuesday, June 24, 2014
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Book of Esther - DVD
Reviewed By: Bill C
Date: Tuesday, April 8, 2014
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Excellent movie and casting. I would highly recommend.


Title: The Book of Esther - DVD
Reviewed By: Richard and linda D
Date: Sunday, February 23, 2014
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Esther is a wonderful film, which invites comparison with One Night with the King. In comparing the two, The Book of Esther is probably the more Biblically accurate of the two, but One Night with the King is definitely the superior film (relative to production values, storyline, dramatic effect, and character development). Our suggestion is to view both films, over a long weekend, and decide for yourself which you prefer. Both are wonderful, so choosing will be difficult! Enjoy!


Title: The Book of Esther - DVD
Reviewed By: James R
Date: Saturday, February 8, 2014
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
EXCELLENT movie! We have seen other Esther movies and this movie is one of the better ones! Great acting, good drama and HDTV quality! Thank you Christian Cinema :-)


Title: The Book of Esther - DVD
Reviewed By: Paige E
Date: Saturday, February 1, 2014
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Book of Esther - DVD
Reviewed By: James B
Date: Tuesday, December 3, 2013
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Book of Esther - DVD
Reviewed By: Ulaine (elaine) D
Date: Monday, November 4, 2013
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Book of Esther - DVD
Reviewed By: Sharon W
Date: Friday, November 1, 2013
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
As a children's church leader many years ago, I loved telling Bible stories in a way that modern children could relate. I didn't change the stories, but I gave them a modern feel. Director David A.R. White has taken that same approach with The Book of Esther.

Biblical movies tend to include certain cliched details that let us know they're period movies. - strong accents, Old English dialogue, marketplace scenes ( usually with animals running around), and a specific colorization. The Book of Esther has none of these. Instead, it has characters like us, only in beautiful period-inspired costumes.

If you're looking for a traditional Biblical film with epic cinematography and big, dramatic scenes, this is not for you. However, if you've ever read a Bible story and wondered what it would have been like to be one of the characters, you'll appreciate the intimate feel of this movie. The Book of Esther takes a behind the scenes look into the lives and minds of the main characters. We get their unique perspectives on the events that occurred in the transformation of a Jewish orphan into Queen of Persia.

At times the movie feels like a soap opera, which makes perfect sense considering many of the actors have a soap background. However, it's subtle, and as a rule, not over-the-top. Jen Lilley shines as Esther. She's beautiful, vibrant, charismatic, and real. Robert Miano is equally strong as Mordecai. Linda Bisesti and Thaao Penghlis had me laughing throughout the movie. They are such fun villains. Eliza Roberts was also fun as Esther's gossipy friend. And Joel Smallbone holds his own, making his film debut as King Xerses.

This movie will appeal to Christian audiences who are familiar with the Bible story, but it will be equally entertaining to a secular crowd as the spiritual aspects of the movie are interwoven into the story and not tacked on as separate sermons.

Sharon Wilharm, Editor Faith Flix
www.faithflixfilms.wordpress.com


Title: The Book of Esther - DVD
Reviewed By: Richard and linda D
Date: Sunday, October 27, 2013
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Esther is a wonderful film, which invites comparison with One Night with the King. In comparing the two, The Book of Esther is probably the more Biblically accurate of the two, but One Night with the King is definitely the superior film (relative to production values, storyline, dramatic effect, and character development). Our suggestion is to view both films, over a long weekend, and decide for yourself which you prefer. Both are wonderful, so choosing will be difficult! Enjoy!


Title: The Book of Esther - DVD
Reviewed By: Linda B
Date: Friday, October 4, 2013
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Book of Esther - DVD
Reviewed By: Scott L
Date: Friday, August 16, 2013
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Excellent movie by Pure Flix! "One Night with the King" was a better telling of the story but this was very good nonetheless!


Title: The Book of Esther - DVD
Reviewed By: Donnalynn S
Date: Saturday, June 22, 2013
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I so enjoyed this version so much. They touched areas not others have and didn't go into areas of the account others did keeping it fresh. I loved the simplicity of this beautiful moving story.


Back
BEST SELLING
BUYER REVIEWS [more...]
The Book of Esther - DVD
4 of 5 Stars!
The Book of Esther - DVD
As a children's church leader many years ago, I loved telling Bible stories in a way that modern children could relate. I... [read more]
Quote For The Day
"But if we confess our sins to him, he is faithful and just to forgive us and to cleanse us from every wrong."
- 1 John 1:9

What customers say about ChristianCinema.com:
"Great service and great prices!" - Wally Rogers

 
See ChristianCinema.com Reviews at Bizrate.com