SHOP CATEGORIES
FEATURED
WHAT'S NEW   [more...]
We Were There - DVD
We Were There - DVD
List Price: $12.99
Your Price: $12.34
True stories of World War II told by those who lived it.
The Woodcarver - DVD Reviews
Displaying 59 reviews      Write Review Back
The Woodcarver - DVD
28%
off!
The Woodcarver - DVD

Restoring their faith in God and in Life.

List Price: $6.99
Your Price: $5.00
In Cart

Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Larry ketterman J
Date: Monday, September 26, 2016
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
The Wood Carver is a wonderful and inspirational movie! I am so sorry it has taken me so long to leave a review. The price was great, again the movie was wonderful and the thing that really blew me away was the DVD was in my mailbox within 4 days of the order date! Awesome! Thanks!


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Cindy T
Date: Saturday, September 12, 2015
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Bonnie Y
Date: Monday, March 9, 2015
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Ben H
Date: Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
I like the simplicity of the story. Life is not always action and adventure.


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Mary M
Date: Sunday, July 27, 2014
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Price G
Date: Tuesday, June 24, 2014
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Diana E
Date: Tuesday, June 24, 2014
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Ruth A
Date: Thursday, May 8, 2014
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Jim and barbara W
Date: Saturday, April 26, 2014
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
AAA!EXCELLENT MOVIE! PROVES HOW MUCH WE NEED JESUS IN OUR MARRIAGES AND IN OUR LIVES. CANNOT MAKE IT WITHOUT HIM!JIM AND BARBARA W.


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Daniel D
Date: Monday, March 17, 2014
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Mitra K
Date: Thursday, November 14, 2013
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
very heart warming and believable. the kid was a great actor and the woodcarver lovable.


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Richard H
Date: Friday, June 7, 2013
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Lillian L
Date: Sunday, March 10, 2013
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Tl A
Date: Wednesday, February 27, 2013
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Excellent redeeming story and well presented in this movie.
An inside look at where family values were and what they have destructively become. But, all ends well because of faith and trust in the Lord. His way still works the best.


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Angie M
Date: Tuesday, February 12, 2013
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: David D
Date: Thursday, February 7, 2013
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Richard R
Date: Wednesday, February 6, 2013
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Joseph matthew C
Date: Saturday, February 2, 2013
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Mervin bachemin J
Date: Monday, December 31, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: James B
Date: Wednesday, December 26, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
One of he best movies and acting we've seen.


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Rigoberto S
Date: Tuesday, December 25, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Torine O
Date: Tuesday, December 11, 2012
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
The acting was good all around and the storyline was also but the pace was a little slow throughout the movie.


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Tracey C
Date: Sunday, December 2, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This is an excellent movie, great for the we family tow watch, has a good story to it


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Agnes H
Date: Sunday, November 18, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Leah M
Date: Saturday, October 6, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Nicole D
Date: Tuesday, September 11, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Kelly B
Date: Wednesday, September 5, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I thought this was a great movie. It was moving and inspirational. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a wholesome, entertaining movie.


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Ingrid paola Z
Date: Tuesday, September 4, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Nice family movie, shows you how a helping hand can do a lot for a whole family


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Katherine R
Date: Tuesday, September 4, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Debra W
Date: Tuesday, August 7, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This movie was outstanding in every way. The film quality was excellent, the story line moved and kept your interest, but the most amazing thing about this movie was the message. We have all struggled at sometime in our walk with the "why". Why things happen that negatively impact our lives and why God doesn't respond (the way we want Him to) to our prayers. This movie takes that issue, from the perspective of an adults pain and from a child's need for security and blends these two together so we can watch God heal and restore in a way neither expected. The acting in this film is excellent and it is very true to life in its portrail of how this world blinds us to the truth of God's plan for each of us and how we can so quickly be lost and separated from our Father. If you are having issues or know of someone struggling, please rent or buy this film and invite them over. We serve an amazing God and this film shows us what He can do in our lives, if we just let go and let God.


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Katie H
Date: Sunday, August 5, 2012
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Alexandra F
Date: Friday, August 3, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Really liked this movie; would watch it again.


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Anello A
Date: Tuesday, July 31, 2012
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Colleen P
Date: Monday, July 30, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Charity W
Date: Sunday, July 15, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
It is a good family movie. Our 6 year old son even sat through the movie.


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Regina W
Date: Monday, June 18, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This was our Father's Day movie. It was awesome...a real must see. The message was clear and I was touched by the loving kind disposition of Ernest (John Ratzenberger). He helpe Matthew and his parents find their way back to each other.


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Milton K
Date: Monday, June 11, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Richard and linda D
Date: Friday, June 8, 2012
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
The Woodcarver, starring John Ratzenberger (playing Ernest) and a host of others, begins somewhat slowly, but if you hang in there until Act II begins (when Ernest and Matthew meet at the wood shop) you’ll greatly appreciate the balance of the film. Enjoy!


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Jennifer F
Date: Monday, June 4, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Ben U
Date: Sunday, June 3, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Though John Ratzenberger had a smaller part in the movie What if…? I thought he was great in that movie. In addition to liking his previous performance as well as his work for Pixar, I bought this DVD because the plot premise seemed like this would be both comedic and inspirational. Interestingly enough, when I first opened The Woodcarver case I saw the disc stated this was also WWJD II. If you are familiar with some of my previous entries, you should know that I did watch WWJD the Movie and thought it was a pretty decent film, but will this second be just as good?

Like WWJD the Movie, The Woodcarver is multiple stories weaved together very finely. The primary story concerns fifteen year old Matt Stevenson who is caught on camera vandalizing a Baptist Church; why he did this you’ll have to find out. The Pastor of First Baptist Church gathers Matt and his parents together, and tells them that if Matt repairs the damaged done the church will not press charges. Another story concerns Matt’s parents who are currently separated, and are struggling to deal with all their family’s drama and strife. The third story concerns Ernest Otto, the woodcarver who originally carved the church’s woodwork, who hasn’t carved in years due to his wife’s death. Ernest is now commissioned by the church to rebuild what was once destroyed, though a certain construction company would prefer him to not complete the job… All together each of these stories eventually beg everyone the question: “What Would Jesus Do?”

This movie has given me an appreciation for anything that is hand carved. I felt the movie impressively described and demonstrated what it means to be a woodcarver and how difficult it is of a task; I wonder what Jesus Christ’s wood work looked like. The message presented, like the first WWJD movie, was very good of a reminder especially for those who haven’t gone to church in a while. This is a story about manhood, mentorship, family, character, and hard work. The only downsides I can honestly give are two things: 1) Matt and his dad’s actors could have been better at times, though the acting was decent overall 2) some parts of the story’s plotline were kind of predictable at least for me. Other than those two things I can definitely say this is a great movie for the family and glad to have this in my Christian movie collection.


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Kim S
Date: Tuesday, May 22, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Roberto B
Date: Saturday, May 19, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Pastor jim and terri T
Date: Wednesday, May 2, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Just finished watching the WOODCARVER, what a wonderful uplifting movie. As a pastor of a 80+ congeration my wife is always looking for movies worthy of a family movie night at our church, and this one is the next one to be shown.
We view every movie befor it will be shown and they are much harder to find than you think! This Movie is so good and it is not ashamed to Put Jesus in the place where he should be, and leting the world know that without Christ there is no Hope. It also shows that with Christ all things are possiable!
Praying for more movies like this.
Living Expectantly !
Pastor Jim and Terri Trowbridge


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Maiya I
Date: Saturday, April 28, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Crystal S
Date: Friday, April 27, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Andres l O
Date: Wednesday, April 25, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Benjamen A
Date: Monday, April 23, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Randy S
Date: Monday, April 16, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Tonya S
Date: Saturday, April 14, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Bobbi B
Date: Tuesday, April 10, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
great movie! the acting was superb! the whole thing was very believeable!


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Lori S
Date: Monday, April 9, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Chris P
Date: Friday, April 6, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Chele W
Date: Monday, March 26, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Patricia L
Date: Sunday, March 25, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Wonderful Family Movie


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Ruth M
Date: Wednesday, March 21, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Katherine H
Date: Monday, March 19, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I enjoyed this movie alot it is so great I watched it 3 times before returning it. I plan to purchase it in the near future to share with others.


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: John-clay B
Date: Thursday, March 15, 2012
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
This one feels like it's trying to hard to be a Christian film, and the storyline is quite predictable.


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Kathleen S
Date: Sunday, March 11, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
When a young troubled boy named Matthew Stevenson decides to destroy the church because of an unanswered prayer, he is caught on video tape and has to be punished. He is ordered by the church deacons to spend his time repairing all the damage he did to avoid persecution. However a lot of the wood work that is destroyed was created by Ernest Otto (John Ratzenberger).

Since losing his wife of forty years to cancer, Ernest has lived a reclusive life and his woodcarving tools have sat unused since his creations at the church many years ago. Now called by the church once more to restore some of the unique carvings to the church, Ernest enlists the aid of Matthew to help him finish on time, otherwise the work will be bid out to competitor wood mill whom his father is forming a partnership with.

Feeling that God doesn't answer prayers, Matthew confesses to Ernest that he prayed for his parents to avoid getting divorced and now fighting and living separate lives, he believes that God has failed him. Yet because God answers prayers in unique and different ways from what we expect, this family will find that anything is possible if one is willing to work hard at it and offer their prayers to God.

I received the DVD, The Woodcarver, compliments of Propeller and Nasser Group North for my honest review and thoroughly enjoyed this wonderful family film. It shows that we need to enjoy what we have in the present more so than ever before because even the prayers we ask, may often times be answered by God in far different ways than we ever imagined. Our family really enjoyed the message of this movie and found it a great way to talk about prayer and how God will often times answer them. While the answers may be different than we expected, it does not mean God doesn't listen or doesn't care. My family rates this movie at 5 out of 5 stars and highly recommends it to anyone looking for great family entertainment.


Title: The Woodcarver - DVD
Reviewed By: Donnalynn S
Date: Friday, March 9, 2012
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This is the Christian version of The Last Brick Maker. Excellent story no matter how many times told. John Ratzenberger and all of the actors are perfectly placed.


Back
BEST SELLING
BUYER REVIEWS [more...]
The Woodcarver - DVD
4 of 5 Stars!
The Woodcarver - DVD
I like the simplicity of the story. Life is not always action and adventure. ... [read more]
Quote For The Day
"Lord, I shall be very busy this day. I may forget thee, but do not thou forget me."
- Sir Jacob Astley

What customers say about ChristianCinema.com:
"Good selection of products, interesting titles, value for money, trustworthy company and secure purchasing." - Sandy Franklin

 
See ChristianCinema.com Reviews at Bizrate.com