ChristianCinema.com: 1-888-466-8432
   HomeStudio StoresPureFlix EntertainmentHolyman Undercover - DVDReviews My Account  |  Cart Contents  |  Checkout   
SHOP CATEGORIES
MOVIE REVIEWS
Videos (4914)
TV Movies (529)
FEATURED
WHAT'S NEW   [more...]
When Calls the Heart: A Telling Silence - DVD
When Calls the Heart: A Telling Silence - DVD
List Price: $19.98
Your Price: $14.92
Inspired by the best-selling series by Janette Oke.
Holyman Undercover - DVD Reviews
Displaying 21 reviews      Write Review Back

Title: Holyman Undercover - DVD
Reviewed By:
Tiffanie R
Date:
Tuesday, October 22, 2013
Rating:
3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Holyman Undercover - DVD
Reviewed By:
James B
Date:
Monday, June 24, 2013
Rating:
2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Holyman Undercover - DVD
Reviewed By:
Teresa L
Date:
Sunday, June 9, 2013
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
This should actually be removed from "Christian Cinema" altogether!! Totally inappropriate worldly movie...


Title: Holyman Undercover - DVD
Reviewed By:
Scott S
Date:
Friday, April 26, 2013
Rating:
3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
The best comedic elements of this movie: 1) Roy fantasizes about his Hollywood girlfriend dressing up in Amish clothes. 2) Repentant hotdog being chased by cops. This show is NOT for children, but in a risque way, portrays the dangers of compromise. In the special features, David White acknowledges that this production is " a bit edgy for the genre". However, I did enjoy the movie.


Title: Holyman Undercover - DVD
Reviewed By:
Richard and linda D
Date:
Sunday, March 31, 2013
Rating:
2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
Holyman Undercover is a satiric Christian film, which is somewhat difficult for the Christian community to understand. When they show scenes that are definitely not Christian, such as the cocaine car wash, they are attempting to let viewers know that this is unacceptable Christian behavior. However good the intentions, the execution (the final product that viewers see in the film) of the concept was generally ineffective. It's always great, though, to see David A. R. White and his wife, Andrea Logan White, in the same film. If you wish to see David and Andrea in a superior film, get Marriage Retreat! Enjoy!


Title: Holyman Undercover - DVD
Reviewed By:
Roberto B
Date:
Friday, September 21, 2012
Rating:
2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Holyman Undercover - DVD
Reviewed By:
Crystal T
Date:
Thursday, September 20, 2012
Rating:
2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
I purchased this movie for our family movie night. My children are 5, 4 and 20 months. I thought this movie was going to be more about the acting aspect than about what it was. This movie is not suitable for children in my opinion under the age of 16 years old. We began watching this movie (with our young children) and allowed some of the scenes I was uncomfortable with go until it came to a sexually tantalizing scene of a woman straddling a man sitting on a chair throwing her head around and around. I stopped it at that point and finished watching the rest with my husband. I was overall disappointed in the movie, however, I believe it was aimed toward those who are used to watching, sex, drugs and rock and roll to appeal to them and slip the word of God into the film for their thought.

Graphic information: Lines of cocaine are shown in a scene. Alcoholic consumption. Cocaine car wash. Jailhouse sexual encounter. Reference to his cell mate being his "husband". Lap dance. Insinuated premarital sexual intercourse to have occurred but later find out it did not happen because he was so drunk he couldn't walk "let alone anything else." Ample cleavage and short skirts with fitted outfits.

I hope this will help others in their purchase/viewing choice. The trailer sells it as something completely different than what the actual content of the movie was. If I were to give it a rating it would be at least PG-13 but I would prefer R. I felt uncomfortable watching it so I don't believe my children should be watching it at any age!!


Title: Holyman Undercover - DVD
Reviewed By:
Julianna M
Date:
Monday, August 20, 2012
Rating:
2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Holyman Undercover - DVD
Reviewed By:
Ben U
Date:
Sunday, June 3, 2012
Rating:
5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I'll be honest, when I saw the cover to this I was thinking: "Oh wow this has got to be terrible". I actually avoided the idea of purchasing it and even watching this at first simply, because I was thinking it would be really cheesy. Not very fair of me to have felt that way I realize this now, especially since I try to give things a fair journalistic chance. Of course recently, I saw Netflix had this movie available so one night I said "alright fine, maybe I'll get a good laugh after all" and opened up about it. Well honestly the movie was not what I had originally expected.

Holyman Undercover is about an Amish man, played by David A.R. White, who sets out to Los Angeles in order to bring the gospel to those people as well as find one of his long-lost relatives. He doesn't find a lot of open support and quite frankly gets made fun of for his upbringing at the beginning. He does find his long-lost relative and is told "you have to reach the lost in a different way" and because of this advice the Amish man eventually gets into acting. This story is about a Christian who is struggling with balancing out his faith while not getting into trouble or corrupted at the same time...

Obviously this is a film of satire so you can't take certain things like the commercial voiceover, David's character does, seriously lol; I doubt many people would say that's how to actually reach Californians. (inserting Pro-Jesus subliminal messages while naming off side effects for a pill commercial.) However, in addition to providing a good story, it also gives the viewer a reminder that there are temptations out there in the world that we have to watch out for regardless of what career we have; I really like that. I thought this was pretty funny surprisingly, Holyman Undercover certainly parodies certain aspects of both the Christian and Unsaved lifestyle. This also shows just how easily it is for anyone to fall under sin, including Christians, and that one little slip or "allowance" can sometimes turn into something much bigger and nastier than we may have imagined. I was pleasantly surprised by how good this movie was, like I said before I was imaging this as something very cheesy, I'm glad my original perception was wrong.


Title: Holyman Undercover - DVD
Reviewed By:
Cary S
Date:
Monday, May 28, 2012
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
What were my boys thinking?....


Title: Holyman Undercover - DVD
Reviewed By:
Stephanie H
Date:
Thursday, May 17, 2012
Rating:
2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
There were a few funny parts, but the movie wasn't very good.


Title: Holyman Undercover - DVD
Reviewed By:
Mary V
Date:
Tuesday, April 26, 2011
Rating:
5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Holyman Undercover - DVD
Reviewed By:
Milton K
Date:
Friday, April 15, 2011
Rating:
2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
My first Christian movie after accepting Christ was The Moment After. Since then, I've aimed to watch every movie starring David A.R. White. Sadly, this is the first one of his movies that I cannot praise or recommend.

Humor, when appropriate, is essential for human beings. There is even genuine Christian humor. This movie, however, is not "Christian humor." The first word that comes to mind is "crass." I also do not appreciate the misportrayal of God's servants, the Amish community.

Pass on this. Oh, and David, please, nothing like this again!


Title: Holyman Undercover - DVD
Reviewed By:
Jo anne R
Date:
Saturday, March 12, 2011
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
I am sorry, but this was an entirely STUPID movie!! I didn't even finish watching it. After about 10-15 minutes, I gave up. I am not into slapstick comedy - but this was even worse!


Title: Holyman Undercover - DVD
Reviewed By:
Kathleen R
Date:
Tuesday, October 26, 2010
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
If you want to see David White and John Schneiderman in a really good comedy (worth watching a number of times) get "Hidden Secrets" - it's great. "Holyman Undercover" isn't. The preview should've been enough warning, but I got it anyway and wish I hadn't bothered.


Title: Holyman Undercover - DVD
Reviewed By:
Julie B
Date:
Friday, August 20, 2010
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
What a big disappointment!!! We are David White fans, but not anymore. The storyline was terrible, the acting was sub-par, and there was not a clear Christian message at all. We were embarassed watching this movie with our children. Because we wrongly assumed this was a Christian film we did not preview it first. Big mistake. This movie does all Christians a disservice!!!


Title: Holyman Undercover - DVD
Reviewed By:
Jan K
Date:
Friday, April 9, 2010
Rating:
5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I thought this was a really terrific little film with a great cast including Fred Willard, John Schneider and one my favorite Christian actors David White. This was the first Christian comedy I've seen and it was genuinely laugh out loud funny in places. Not only that, it's a great ministry tool too. The temptations Roy faces mirror the temptations faced by youths everywhere. Not just specific sins like sex, drugs and alcohol -- which assault our kids from every direction -- but the overwhelming pressure to conform to the world's definition of success and popularity. Roy ultimately learns the hard way that it was his faith and his values that attracted people to him in the first place. I can't wait to show it to the youth group at my church. I think it's a film they will enjoy, and be happy to share with their non-believing friends. It also taught me a lesson too. Too often I've been a bit of a Holyman Undercover myself. This film reminded me to always be prepared to share my faith even if it means some people might think "less" of me.


Title: Holyman Undercover - DVD
Reviewed By:
Diane W
Date:
Wednesday, March 31, 2010
Rating:
2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
Kind of cute but pretty dorky as well. A bit overacted.


Title: Holyman Undercover - DVD
Reviewed By:
Susie D
Date:
Friday, March 26, 2010
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
I can't think of one redeeming quality about this movie. It is truly a waist of time. The Amish portray in it are completely inaccurate and as off as the rest of the movie.


Title: Holyman Undercover - DVD
Reviewed By:
Laura C
Date:
Saturday, March 20, 2010
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
This was one of the dumbest movies I have seen! Don't waste your time renting this one.


Title: Holyman Undercover - DVD
Reviewed By:
S. r. C
Date:
Monday, March 8, 2010
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
This wasn't a good Christian movie!!!!It had extremely inappropriate scenes for Christians. No one should watch this movie. It had an inapropriately dressed woman, sexual suggestions, someone enjoying an alcoholic beverage, smoking, lying.......etc. .....you name it!!!! It was very bad. No Christian themes could counteract the terrible things in this movie. What was David White thinking???? We hate that we sat through it waiting for the Christian themes to pop up and make it worth watching because there wasn't anything there to make this piece of trash worth watching!!!!

Holyman Undercover - DVD
21%
off!

Holyman Undercover - DVD

Holyman Undercover is a hilarious film about faith, hope, love and the perils of testifying in Tinseltown.


List Price: $9.99
Your Price: $7.92

In Cart

Back
BEST SELLING
 1.When Calls the Heart: 3 DVD Bundle - DVDWhen Calls the Heart: 3 DVD Bundle - DVD
 2.The Miracle of the Cards - DVDThe Miracle of the Cards - DVD
 3.Left Behind: The 4-DVD Boxed CollectionLeft Behind: The 4-DVD Boxed Collection
 4.Resurrection - DVDResurrection - DVD
 5.When Calls the Heart: A Telling Silence - DVDWhen Calls the Heart: A Telling Silence - DVD
 6.Finding Normal - DVDFinding Normal - DVD
 7.The Redemption of Henry Myers - DVDThe Redemption of Henry Myers - DVD
 8.When Calls The Heart: Lost and Found - DVDWhen Calls The Heart: Lost and Found - DVD
 9.When Calls the Heart - DVDWhen Calls the Heart - DVD
10.Jimmy - DVDJimmy - DVD
BUYER REVIEWS [more...]
Holyman Undercover - DVD
5 of 5 Stars!
Holyman Undercover - DVD
I thought this was a really terrific little film with a great cast including Fred Willard, John Schneider and one my favorite... [read more]
SPECIALS  [more...]
Stevie's Trek to the Holy Land: Abraham's Promise - DVD
Stevie's Trek to the Holy Land: Abraham's Promise - DVD
List Price: $9.99
Your Price: $6.92
Welcome to the Holy Land: the land of promise!
Quote For The Day
"For I can do everything with the help of Christ who gives me the strength I need. "
- Philippians 4:13

What customers say about ChristianCinema.com:
"I was thrilled to find exactly what I was looking for." - T. Bulian

Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

Shop

Popular Searches
Browse DVDs
What's New
Public Performance
Rent Christian DVDs

News

Christian Movie News
Christian Movie Reviews
RSS News/Product Feed
Subscribe to Newsletter
Previous Newsletters

Customer Care

My Account
Contact Us
Order Status
Shipping
Returns
Redeem Account Credit

ChristianCinema.com

About Us
FAQs
Find us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Affiliates Information
Affiliates Login
Advertising

ChristianCinema.com

130 N. Kelsey St. STE C
Visalia, CA 93291

1-888-466-8432
Contact Us

Office Hours:
Monday-Friday 9am-5pm (Central)