ChristianCinema.com: 1-888-466-8432
   HomeGenreSuspensePray - DVDReviews My Account  |  Cart Contents  |  Checkout   
SHOP CATEGORIES
MOVIE REVIEWS
Videos (5211)
TV Movies (540)
FEATURED
WHAT'S NEW   [more...]
Ben Hur/The Ten Commandments Double Feature - DVD
Ben Hur/The Ten Commandments Double Feature - DVD
List Price: $14.98
Your Price: $13.92
Two Classic Films in this 4 DVD Set
Pray - DVD Reviews
Displaying 42 reviews      Write Review Back

Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Kathy C
Date:
Saturday, May 3, 2014
Rating:
4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Zoila S
Date:
Thursday, November 7, 2013
Rating:
4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Karen M
Date:
Tuesday, July 2, 2013
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Janet M
Date:
Monday, October 8, 2012
Rating:
5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Lauren K
Date:
Tuesday, September 25, 2012
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Richard and linda D
Date:
Saturday, June 2, 2012
Rating:
2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
Pray, an exceptionally low budget film, which we usually enjoy [for a superior low budget film, get Echoes of Innocence, produced, written, and directed by Nathan Todd Sims; and starring Sara Simmonds (playing Sarah) and (before he was famous) Jake McDorman (playing Dave). All the elements of a great film come together here, with nary a misstep made in either production values of actor/actress believability. Unfortunately, ChristianCinema.com does not carry this film, but they should. While this film is geared toward a youthful audience, adults and seniors have also found this film to be highly entertaining, capable of generating meaningful discussions on: The nature of evil, virginity, secondary virginity, and living a Christ centered life.] Everything that we wrote about Echoes of Innocence is lacking in Pray, which warrants only a two-star rating. Enjoy, if you can, but we did not!


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Doreen C
Date:
Friday, April 20, 2012
Rating:
3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Alisa B
Date:
Sunday, March 11, 2012
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Tonya P
Date:
Friday, March 2, 2012
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
A good premise but an extremely low budget film. Watched the whole thing waiting for it to go somewhere.


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Kathleen M
Date:
Tuesday, February 28, 2012
Rating:
3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Scott L
Date:
Monday, January 30, 2012
Rating:
3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Stephanie W
Date:
Wednesday, January 18, 2012
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Kellye R
Date:
Saturday, June 4, 2011
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
No plot....very slow


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Marlena P
Date:
Monday, May 9, 2011
Rating:
5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I had just written on another review that I was kinda getting disappointed in some of the movies I had recently been sent. That was until I recieved this one!! I loved this movie. The director and actors/actress did a wonderful job. I am waiting for part 2, and I am sure that its worth the wait. I just want to say again what an awesome movie this was!!! Thanks to everyone that helped with the movie I really really really enjoyed it.


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Pete P
Date:
Sunday, February 13, 2011
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
HaHaHaaaa.... oh my goodness, this movie was so begging for the referee to step in and call the fight just 10 minutes in. Wow.... this won a Dove Award??!! What was the competition? Seriously though, this movie had nothing of anything to do with Christianity.... it wasn't even good as a secular movie! I would love to sit down with anyone who thought this was worth even 1 star and go scene by scene. In a court of law, the defending attorney would prosecute it for sentencing. Who am I... just one person's opinion of course, but you have been warned. It's a certifiable train wreck.

I have to give this a star in order to submit??? Wow.... I'm speechless.


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Tim C
Date:
Wednesday, October 27, 2010
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
Perhaps the worst movie I've seen here. A 'pseudo' christian attempt at Nightmare on Elm Street. It drags on ridicuously long, and is just a marathon attempt to keep watching bad plot. Not for kids or teens or adults. Definately not for a Christian family.


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Christine A
Date:
Thursday, February 4, 2010
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
I have to say we were VERY disappointed with this film. It was most probably the worst movie we have ever seen. It had very little to no Christian content at all and the plot went no where. It was the first film we rented from Christian Cinema. Very disappointing! Sorry! But you asked! I would put negative stars if I could!


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Leann B
Date:
Friday, December 4, 2009
Rating:
5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
After reading many other of the reviews I was a bit hesitant to go out and get this movie. Good thing I did, what a great movie - so good that I went out and got Pray 2 and 2.5. It wasn't overly scary (I would recommend it for a 15 year old or older), absolutely NO bad language, sex, drugs, or violence was portrayed in the film. It makes you think about how BIG our GOD is and with Faith in HIM no situation is too much to handle. I am glad that their are companies out there that are making good wholesome moral and ethical movies, that still give you a couple jumps, but don't gore you to death! You could tell this a low budget film, (and I found out it was their first) it shows in some parts and was kind of expected, which was fine and it actually helped me to concentrate on the movie itself and to understand the story. If you watch the 2.5 "Directors Cut" version, you will be blown away at the differences they made and how they compiled the first and second movies together. It was a much cleaner film and should help to resolve the story line for anyone that left a poor comment about it being "boring". I researched the company that made this film "Cross Shadow", it looks like they have a new movie coming out in January - and from the trailers on IMDB and on their web page it looks a lot scarier and seems that they got more involved with casting and story lines. I can't wait!!! I'm not sure if I can say this on here, but the movie is called "Paranormal". In conclusion, I absolutely loved Pray, Pray 2 and 2.5 and would recommend it to anyone. It would also be a great thought to have your local church watch it with the youth group - and it comes with a Bible Study, how cool is that! I definitely give this movie 5 stars, 2 thumbs up or whatever the highest ranking is and can't wait for what they have in the works.


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Myra S
Date:
Thursday, November 19, 2009
Rating:
2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
we didn't really enjoy this movie. it was slow moving. in fact 'Dad' left and went to watch tv in another room!


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Mara H
Date:
Wednesday, November 4, 2009
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
I didn't like this movie at all. There was hardly any plot, there was other things going on that were never solved, and the ending was disappointing. I did understand what the whole thing was about, but I think teenagers would think this movie was boring and pointless.


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Lisa R
Date:
Tuesday, August 18, 2009
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
This movie was okay, it't just that most of the movie was wasted trying to build up the story of this bad guy stalking the main character. That's another thing-at times it was downright scary. My twelve year old and I watched it together and she said she was a little afraid when she went to bed that night. I wouldn't recommend it.


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Christine H
Date:
Thursday, June 18, 2009
Rating:
4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Kind of scary but cool. I wouldn't recommended it for kids ten or younger.


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Naomi N
Date:
Wednesday, June 17, 2009
Rating:
3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
It was probably not bad for a low budget beginning film, however not everyone would understand the ending.


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Debra W
Date:
Sunday, November 2, 2008
Rating:
3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
Very good story, amazing message. Only issue was this was a low budget movie - enjoyable though.


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Colette V
Date:
Monday, October 27, 2008
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
TERRIBLE! It went nowhere. The movies plot was of no substance, th ending made no statement or have any meaning at all. Would not recommend this to anyone.

If I could I wouldn't even give one star.


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Josh B
Date:
Sunday, October 19, 2008
Rating:
5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This movie is awesome! It's great that there is a suspense/thriller movie like this one that Christians can watch. My family watched it together and enjoyed it a lot! It contained a good mix of suspense and humor. The message is great also. I highly recommend this to anyone!


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Laura F
Date:
Wednesday, October 15, 2008
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
This movie was so dark I had a very hard time figuring out what was going on. Was boring to me.


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Kathy C
Date:
Wednesday, October 15, 2008
Rating:
3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
My teens really loved this movie. The tense nature of it and a few sudden surprises. And they really loved the ending.


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Leslie F
Date:
Monday, September 22, 2008
Rating:
5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
FANTASTIC clean alternative for fans of thrillers!! Not sure why anyone who enjoys this genre would not give this 5 stars. It has everything I was looking for in a suspense flick. Family-friendly, suspenseful, some comic moments, positive role models for teens, and best of all, a powerful Christian message of how God can (and does) work miracles! Loved the cliff-hanger ending that totally caught me by surprise!

PRAY delivered exactly what the synopsis implied: a clean suspenseful movie with no language, no sexuality, no gratuitous on-screen violence, while also giving my kids a subtle pro-faith message about the Lord and the power of answered prayer.

Please keep making more movies like this. It is a GREAT way to reach a segment of teens/college that is frequently overlooked. I've read the early reviews for PRAY 2: The Woods, and it sounds like it's going to be even better! Can't wait to get my copy and do the Bible study with our church youth group this Halloween!


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Michael H
Date:
Wednesday, September 17, 2008
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
This has got to be the most low budget over hyped movie I have ever seen. It kept building in climax only to burst at the end. there was no resolution to the mystery just more mystery. It might as well have been Urban Legends the Christian version. Can God do this, yes. Was it worth a movie. NO!


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Leanna A
Date:
Tuesday, September 16, 2008
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
The story was disjointed, the menacing stranger stealing women is very scary, and the miracle, well, it was stupid. Sorry guys I won't be recommending this one.


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Kirsten M
Date:
Sunday, September 14, 2008
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
(SPOILER ALERT)
Is this what youth ministry has become? Let's make a movie about what amounts to faith-promoting rumor (urban legand about a girl who escapes a serial killer in a car with no engine) and call that Christian faith!!

If we throw in a couple of references to faith, a couple of prayers that only occur in crisis and not before, and the obligatory scene of a local pastor on TV we can pass this off as preaching the gospel.

No wonder 80% of our youth fall away in the first two years of college. Their testimonies are being built on sand not solid foundation of the gospel.

But wait, "we included a bible study on the DVD." I think that is called hiding your light under a bushel.

You can preach the gospel in entertaining AND truthful (and faithful) ways. This wasn't one of them.


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Dillon B
Date:
Thursday, September 4, 2008
Rating:
5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I was pleasantly surprised with Pray. It offered some genuine scares without resorting to graphic violence in any way. The story offered a fun Halloween alternative that I highly recommend for any teen audience. It includes Christian references, yet is not cliche or preachy as is sometimes the case in such films. At under 90 minutes, the film can also be easily used in church youth ministry settings or for a home group. Plus, it keeps showing up everywhere I look--Lifeway Stores, NetFlix, CBD, and others have helped introduce this new film to a broad audience in a major way. I'm really looking forward to this team's next film, Pray 2, for another thrill-ride this Halloween season!


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Charlotte B
Date:
Tuesday, September 2, 2008
Rating:
4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
this was an amazing movie god really does still
do miracles today
and cant wait to see pray "in the woods"


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Clay N
Date:
Monday, August 18, 2008
Rating:
5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Pray was such a great film to watch. As you can see, I've given this movie 5 out of 5 stars for many reasons. Since I've given this movie 5 stars, I believe I should have five reasons for this.

1. ORIGINAL: This movie was one of a kind. Now days, it's hard to find a movie that isn't a remake of other films. It was nice for once to watch a scary movie without knowing what was going to happen.

2. MESSAGE: Every good movie has a good message or story to it. In this case, Pray had a great story about a girl named Madison. A girl being raised in a time where Hollywood decides what is pretty. The message is that weight doesn't define what is pretty. I thought that this was great advice for teenagers.

3. CHANGE: It was nice for once to actually watch a scary movie without be turned away with what Hollywood thinks is scary now. The Director of this film goes back to the basic of what makes a scary movie.

4. PERFORMANCE: The acting in this film was great. Madison and many of the other characters draw you into this story. Pray actually makes you care about the characters in this film. This was a big plus for me because there has been numerous films where characters are never established.

5. FUN AND ENTERTAINING: This movie was a lot of fun to watch and will keep you on the edge of your seats. The end is bone chilling but leaves you with a powerful message that GOD CAN OVERCOME ANYTHING. If you watch this, you want regret it.


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Carol H
Date:
Saturday, August 2, 2008
Rating:
2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
It was an alright movie. I hope part 2 will be better.


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Dan R
Date:
Saturday, August 2, 2008
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
What a stupid waste of time, I cant believe i watched the whole thing! Such a shame when there are so many excellent DVDs here.


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Ryan W
Date:
Monday, May 26, 2008
Rating:
5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Awesome Movie! Excellent Movies for Youth and College Student. Great story that keeps your attention!


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Colleen G
Date:
Thursday, May 1, 2008
Rating:
5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This is a film that causes people to really think. I noticed there are many layers of symbolic references. For instance, the woman at the begining who appears to have been abducted....there are posters put up around town showing her as "missing." Missing is another word for lost. We are all lost without knowing our Lord and savior Jesus Christ. She never prayed (out loud at least) while she was in distress, which implies that she doesn't have faith in Christ to rescue her....and thus she remains missing (lost)....will we find out what happens to her in part 2 or part 3 of this trilogy? I hope so.
I also noticed the constant visual reference of chains whenever the "shape" was around. It was quite frightening and thought provoking. I took away from it that the "shape" represented evil and the chains represented our bondage to sin. Even though Christ freed us from sin, while we are living in this earthly realm we are constantly surrounded by evil and the chains of sin are waiting to bind us once again if we allow it. We must be ever vigilant in fighting our spiritual battles. PRAYER is our number one defense against the evil one. Pray without ceasing.
I cannot wait until the other 2 movies in this trilogy come out!!


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Heather W
Date:
Wednesday, April 30, 2008
Rating:
5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This is an excellent film! I am a Christian educator and I am so thrilled to have a heart pumping Christian film to hold my teens attention. Plus, the film company provides a Bible study to go along with it. www.crossshadowproductions.com


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
David W
Date:
Saturday, April 19, 2008
Rating:
1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
While watching this movie I kept thinking...Give it a chance, it will get better, but it didn't! Poor acting, little to no script left me wishing I had chosen a different movie to rent. Disapointed!


Title: Pray - DVD
Reviewed By:
Jessica L
Date:
Thursday, March 27, 2008
Rating:
5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
The movie "Pray" is a very interesting movie. It shows a little stuff that will make you scream, and laugh. I would suggest this movie to anyone to see because it makes you think about what is going to happen next. The people that made this film did a terrific job! When you buy this film you won't regret it!

Pray - DVD
8%
off!

Pray - DVD

Run...Hide...Pray


List Price: $12.95
Your Price: $11.95

In Cart

Back
BEST SELLING
BUYER REVIEWS [more...]
Pray - DVD
4 of 5 Stars!
Pray - DVD
Kind of scary but cool. I wouldn't recommended it for kids ten or younger.... [read more]
SPECIALS  [more...]
The Great Missoula Flood - DVD
The Great Missoula Flood - DVD
List Price: $19.99
Your Price: $14.92
Creation Science author and researcher Michael Oard takes you on a journey from Missoula, Montana to the Pacific, sharing how the this massive flood shaped the landscape...
Quote For The Day
"Love means doing what God has commanded us, and he has commanded us to love one another, just as you heard from the beginning."
- 2 John 1:6

What customers say about ChristianCinema.com:
" I have viewed and purchased from this site in the past and am pleased with the upgrades and the increased variety of products." - Sandra Bolden

Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

Shop

Popular Searches
Browse DVDs
What's New
Public Performance
Rent Christian DVDs

News

Christian Movie News
Christian Movie Reviews
RSS News/Product Feed
Subscribe to Newsletter
Previous Newsletters

Customer Care

My Account
Contact Us
Order Status
Shipping
Returns
Redeem Account Credit

ChristianCinema.com

About Us
FAQs & Customer Service
Find us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Affiliates Information
Affiliates Login
Advertising

ChristianCinema.com

326 Sterling Browning Rd
Suite 123
Hollywood Park, TX 78232

1-888-466-8432
Contact Us

Office Hours:
Monday-Friday 9am-5pm (Central)