SHOP CATEGORIES
FEATURED
WHAT'S NEW   [more...]
Heavens to Betsy - VOD
Heavens to Betsy - VOD
Some prayers are best left unanswered.
Lay It Down - DVD Reviews
Displaying 31 reviews      Write Review Back
Lay It Down - DVD
56%
off!
Lay It Down - DVD

Crown Award: Best Youth Film

List Price: $14.98
Your Price: $6.59
In Cart

Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: William H
Date: Monday, March 16, 2015
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Chris H
Date: Wednesday, February 19, 2014
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
In my opinion this was an excellent movie. I have been looking for a movie that would emphasize the importance of salvation in a young person's life and this movie did just that. I would strongly recommend it to families with children that are unsaved.I loved this movie!I hope your company has more like it!


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Brooke M
Date: Friday, August 16, 2013
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
I watch loads of low-budget independent films for fun, and I consider myself very forgiving when it comes to wooden acting, bad production value, and shoddy editing. However, Lay it Down also made some cringe-worthy missteps in its writing. My Mom put it this way: "it's like Evangelism with a sledgehammer." The "witnessing" most of the characters did was downright blunt, and mean. It would not have been effective in reality, but in the film the characters resist for awhile and then suddenly break down and make complete 180 degree turns. The transformation of the main character (Bam/Ben) in particular really bothered me. The instant he gave his life to Christ, there was very little grappling with his old sins and temptations, he immediately took up the positions that his racing had been wrong, that sex outside of marriage was immoral, etc. At least it was a short movie.


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Ann J
Date: Sunday, July 28, 2013
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
Not terrible; just not terrific. A few decent lessons, but I had a problem with the message kids might get that you can get saved, go against conviction intentionally, and still be saved. Also, I had trouble with the idea that taking a dare to impress others was the way to share the Gospel. If you watch it, be sure and dialogue with your kids to clarify any possible gray areas. Acting not great, but not a total waste of time to watch.


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Brittany W
Date: Sunday, July 7, 2013
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
Not sure I got the flow of the movie but I understood the message.


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Jesse C
Date: Saturday, May 4, 2013
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Danielle B
Date: Thursday, February 7, 2013
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
Not for children. Short movie that was okay, but not great.


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Wyatt J
Date: Sunday, December 9, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Rigoberto S
Date: Saturday, December 8, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Dianne D
Date: Tuesday, May 29, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Penny L
Date: Monday, April 9, 2012
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Teresa Z
Date: Saturday, March 17, 2012
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
(no written review given)


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Connie M
Date: Friday, September 30, 2011
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
The message was good, but the story was slow in parts. I liked the metaphor of Jesus as the Great Mechanic.


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Tami B
Date: Friday, September 16, 2011
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!]
My family did not experience this movie as other reviewers. I felt it was slow and a little cliche with some themes so there was some predictability. However I grateful for a couple scenes that discussed difficult topics with teen-dating issues. As a Mom, I used that opportunity as a teaching point. It came up naturally and it made quite a powerful impact.


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Kristin C
Date: Monday, September 12, 2011
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Awesome movie short and to the point. Great for reformed car guys and ex-street racers. Take it to the track and stay safe.


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Sam M
Date: Saturday, June 4, 2011
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
A good movie but I liked the short film "THE LIGHT OF DARKNESS" on the DVD even better :)


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Cynthia V
Date: Tuesday, November 16, 2010
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
What a great movie. This movie has such a strong message of how important salvation is. The only drawback is that it is very short for a movie.


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: William N
Date: Thursday, February 4, 2010
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Last Monday evening, a couple of our young adults brought this movie over to a young man's house for "Movie Night". There were 4 "future Christians" in the group and after the viewing they all expressed the desire to move forward with there search for truth and a desire to know God and His Son Jesus. I recommend this movie for all those who are looking for an "Ice breaker".
Pastor Bill Nicolay
New Beginnings Christian Center
Dinuba, CA


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Anita B
Date: Monday, December 21, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This movie was awesome, the only drawback was i wish it was longer!


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Simone B
Date: Wednesday, October 7, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This is an excellent movie! It is professionally done, so it can be shown to teens of all walks of life.

The Christian mother and youth pastor in the movie are very credible and very appealing to young people. The lines are clearly drawn: after you are saved there is a difference in your life, you are not the same person any more. But at the same time the Christian mother is very inviting and has an open ear for the teens in her life. She is a friend to them and does not condemn them, but at the same time does not condone the sin in their lives.

I wish every Christian adult could live his life the way it is presented here! Great movie for evangelistic outreach to teens - I can only recommend it!


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Rick C
Date: Saturday, July 18, 2009
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
If I had to make a title for this film, it would be "The example of how NOT to witness to the world". First of all, the movie itself: 1) The plot was weak, confusing, and virtually non-existent. 2) The characters were cheesy to say the least. 3) The action sequences were good, but very confusing.
For spiritual content: About the only thing this movie gets right is the content of the gospel message. This is a good movie to watch if you need know how to present the gospel in such a way that will A) get you ignored B) Get you beat up C) Lose all credibility D) make them accuse you of being in a cult. The two most offensive parts were these: 1) Where the mother refuses to cook for the unsaved son and kicks him out. I guess this means if a child is not saved you are allowed to stop loving him. (sarcasm). 2) The brothers are wrestling and the unsaved brother is told "You don't have a choice." to believe. Parents, please don't rent this as a tool to witness to unsaved children. It will turn them OFF to Christianity. Get Faith Like Potatoes or something like that where christians are not portrayed as narrow minded idiots who are of no earthly good. Flywheel and Facing the Giants are also good. I am angry that movies like this are portraying Christians like this. If we are going to win the world for Christ, we need to do it in a relevant way.


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Kristin B
Date: Tuesday, March 3, 2009
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
I've been looking for a movie to show at a future youth event. I know most Christian movies are cheesy and typically have poor acting, but I expected an award winning movie to at least be interesting and entertaining. The intro caught my husband's attention and he even said, "I think I'm going to like this!" Thankfully, the film is only about 45 minutes long because after about 10 minutes we were both unbarably bored. The scenarios of sharing the gospel were unnatural and a poor reflection/ example of how teens can talk to their friends about Jesus. I was extremely disappointed with this film.


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Christine H
Date: Saturday, February 21, 2009
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Was quite impressed with this film. Good gospel message, not embarrassing for young teens to watch.


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Kathy C
Date: Saturday, October 18, 2008
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Good movie for teens. Makes you stop and think. And my teens enjoyed the movie. Shows illegal car racing and scary consequences but also shows God's power to keep and answer prayer.


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Marjorie H
Date: Friday, June 20, 2008
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Great christain movie. All teens should watch this film. It showes that no matter what your dealing with. It's never to late to turn to christ.


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Judy K
Date: Wednesday, June 18, 2008
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
This movie is great! Our 17 yr old son loved it. My husband (a pastor) wants to buy it as a witnessing tool for our church. Great music, action, the gospel and the consequences of our actions all in one film. Most of all, this film shows that the Word never comes back void and God's grace is for all who will accept it.


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Christine P
Date: Friday, April 25, 2008
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Excellent!!!! I was skeptical in the beginning, mainly because it is only 50 minutes long. I thought, 'What good can come out of a 50-minute movie?' Wow, was I wrong. The story line is so beautifully done; it is as good as a feature-length film and better. Words just cannot express how much this movie blessed me. The spiritual side of it is put in a deep, yet easy to understand way. By the time the 50 minutes were up, I was moved to tears, but then, at the very last moment, it left me smiling. I would give it an 100 if I could.


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Donna D
Date: Monday, October 1, 2007
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I really enjoyed this movie. I will admit that the acting and graphics make it very much a "B" movie, the message is still very clear and concise. I really did enjoy it and I would recommend parents of teens to get it for their children to watch.


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: John K
Date: Wednesday, February 18, 2004
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
When I was in school most of my friend we're into street racing. This movies soes how when you let Christ into your live he can change it for the better. A movie for young people or how ever old you are.


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Elisabeth H
Date: Thursday, January 22, 2004
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Lay It Down Is a Must See for you and your Loved ones . If you think that street racing is fun and a good idea think twice . After you see this Great film I Beleave you will see the Truth and be set Free . God is Waiting for you !! He Loves you ! A Great Film , Check it out for yourself .. God Bless


Title: Lay It Down - DVD
Reviewed By: Elisabeth P
Date: Friday, June 13, 2003
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
I am new to the Christian scene, and I have been going to Youth Haven Bible Camp for 4 years. Two nights ago I was sitting at camp, and they played this video, and I just have to say that I was stunned. Lay It Down was a thrilling, video for teens and young adults, I was personally in tears. I found myself wanting to watch it over, and over, and over again. But since I was at camp, I couldn't. I love this movie so much!! I can't wait till' I can see it again! Or maybe another ChristianCinema.com video.


Back
BEST SELLING
BUYER REVIEWS [more...]
Lay It Down - DVD
5 of 5 Stars!
Lay It Down - DVD
Awesome movie short and to the point. Great for reformed car guys and ex-street racers. Take it to the track and... [read more]
Quote For The Day
"Lord, I shall be very busy this day. I may forget thee, but do not thou forget me."
- Sir Jacob Astley

What customers say about ChristianCinema.com:
"I've looked around and not been able to find [the DVD's I was looking for] You're the only place I found." - Barbara Shipley

 
See ChristianCinema.com Reviews at Bizrate.com